Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    What I would like to know (but haven't been able to find out) is if I need to buy the same version of Win7 as my evaluation version (ultimate v.7100) and when I install it will I lose all my previous settings?
    Will the same thing happen if I install a lighter version eg. Home premium?

  2. #2
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,191
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 986 Times in 916 Posts
    The "official" view seems to be no.
    Worth reading this MS Technet Blog

    cheers, Paul

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    The short version: In the case of in place upgrade, yes you must upgrade with the same version. For clean installs, no you do not. You can use whatever version you want. I had the Win 7 RC on 3 PCs. As you know the RC was an Ultimate edition. I clean installed 2 Home Premium versions and 1 Ultimate version with no problems at all.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  4. #4
    2 Star Lounger zigzag3143's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    195
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Phil Matthews View Post
    What I would like to know (but haven't been able to find out) is if I need to buy the same version of Win7 as my evaluation version (ultimate v.7100) and when I install it will I lose all my previous settings?
    Will the same thing happen if I install a lighter version eg. Home premium?

    Phil Hi and welcome

    The official view is yes you must, but since you cant "upgrade" from 7100>>>>7600 you must do a clean install and you can clean install whatever version you like.

    Since you have to do a clean install you will lose your settings

    Hope this helps

    Ken
    Microsoft Most Valuable Professional-- Windows Expert Consumer 2009---2015
    MCC 2013-2015

    Wanikiyi & Dyami--Team ZigZag3143

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks all for your prompt replies.
    Now all I have to do is decide which flavor of Win 7 I need.

  6. #6
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland, UK
    Posts
    38
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    it can be done, but your need to edit a file on the CD and re-burn it, so it does not check the build number of the OS

    See here for details - http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/3075/...s-7-rc-to-rtm/

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •