New Lounger
    Thanks
    I am looking to merge into one file a group of documents. The documents must be able to maintain their own identity and not be affected by a change in any other document in the file. Example- each series of pages in the file must be able to maintain their separate page numbers, headers, footers etc. I must be able to add to the pages in each file if necessary. I am an architect and this type of book is called a "construction specification" book. Is there a simple way to achieve this merging? I have Microsoft word 2007.

4 Star Lounger
    Thanks
    As answered in other newsgroups.

Open doc1, go to the end (ctrl+end) and insert a Section Break, Next Page. On the new page, Insert, File and choose Doc2. Ctrl+End and insert another Section Break, Next Page and then on the new page Insert, File, doc3 and so on.

Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by Rick Manns View Post
    I am an architect and this type of book is called a "construction specification" book. Is there a simple way to achieve this merging? I have Microsoft word 2007.
    Reminds me of: [topic=510317]Organizing Word Documents (2003)[/topic].

If you are thinking of building one big Word document, the devil is in the details. For example, if you use different style definitions in one or more documents, or if you use a different page orientation, then the straightforward approach no longer gets you all the way there. Here is a recent thread discussing some of the issues: [topic=769750]inserting Word docs into other Word docs[/topic].

Super Moderator
    Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by Terry Farrell View Post
    As answered in other newsgroups.

Open doc1, go to the end (ctrl+end) and insert a Section Break, Next Page. On the new page, Insert, File and choose Doc2. Ctrl+End and insert another Section Break, Next Page and then on the new page Insert, File, doc3 and so on.