Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1

  2. #2
    2 Star Lounger zigzag3143's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    195
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Hi XandR and welcome

    There are several third party app that are at least free for trial including (my favorite) Paragon Disk Suite. If you just want a small applet many things will do the job like BartPE, or any boot-able dvd (vista would even work)

    BTW should you just need a little bit of time to work out the details all you need to do is set the system time back


    Hope this helps and let us know if you need help

    Ken J
    Microsoft Most Valuable Professional-- Windows Expert Consumer 2009---2015
    MCC 2013-2015

    Wanikiyi & Dyami--Team ZigZag3143

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    162
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    If you not worried about saving any of the old stuff from the RC then just pop the new dvd in and reformat and install. If you want to save anything from the old then burn to dvd or a usb drive.

    Any 7 dvd will offer options to reformat and install like new, you have the key in hand so that's all that is needed. You'll get a screen shortly after it starts, choose Drive options and delete any of the old partitions you know you don't want then simply select next. Best method

    BTW if you doing this and have no other drives then delete the 100 or 200mb partition also you will see for a fresh install.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    I'm not sure I understand...
    You can't instal using the W7 DVD by doing a reformat/clean boot instal?
    Are you trying to upgrade the RC from a copy of W7 Ulitmate?
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Build your own system; get everything you want and nothing you don't.
    Latest Build:
    ASUS X99 Deluxe, Core i7-5960X, Corsair Hydro H100i, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum 32GB DDR4@2666, W8.1 64 bit,
    EVGA GTX980, Seasonic PLATINUM-1000W PSU, MountainMods U2-UFO Case, and 7 other internal drives.

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    162
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Yes you can
    You can use a 7 dvd to format and install and wipe anything including Linux partitions. Even XP disk's allowed this

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South of the North Pole
    Posts
    919
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Its been alluded to but not specified directly--don't run anything from within the OS. Instead use any boot disc that has the capability to format. The Win7 disc should have no problem accomplishing that but if need beParted Magic(contains GParted) is an excellent free utility download that can handle partitioning and quick formatting.

  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    828
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 38 Times in 34 Posts
    You should boot off of the Win7 DVD. Then during the installation you will have the option of changing your disk partitions - your can freely delete and create them. Of course, you should back up anything you want to keep before you even start this process. Either that or do what I do - buy a new disk and install on that. Then you will still have your old stuff on the old drive and you can copy what you want to keep at your leisure.

  8. #8
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    162
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    This is what I'm talking about. Took this snapshot on a VM.
    If you want fresh install then delete the small 100 or 200 mb partition as well.
    In this snapshot i would just delete both and click the next. It will create the small partition and use rest for Windows

    [attachment=88245:win7.png]
    Attached Images Attached Images

  9. #9
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,450
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    It's a small matter but every bit (pun intended) helps: if you use the Win 7 installation disk to (re)format, you will be assured of having the latest version of NTFS.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •