Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Monee, Illinois
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I'll try to keep this short, and hopefully concise.

    Wife's primary (SATA) HD with XP OS began making noises.
    Bought new SATA HD. Formatted it NTFS.
    Used DIXml software to clone her drive. The clone data was saved on an external drive.
    Used DIXml software to put data onto the new drive.
    Changed BIOS setting to boot from new drive.
    New drive will not boot.

    Am I missing something?

    Thanks,
    Greg

  2. #2
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,199
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 987 Times in 917 Posts
    Clone hot happy?

    Have you tried the cloning software provided by the hard drive manufacturer?

    cheers, Paul

  3. #3
    Super Moderator Deadeye81's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    2,654
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 113 Times in 97 Posts
    Hi Greg and welcome to the Lounge!

    I am going to take a stab in the dark so to speak. I am not familiar with the cloning software you used. Could it be possible that "Hide protected operating system files" in Explorer Tools | Folder Options | View should be unchecked as well as "show hidden files, folders and drives" so the cloning software can pick all of them up? It should have picked them up anyway, including the boot files, but ......

    Can you boot from a Windows XP CD and go to Recovery Console? If so type bootcfg /scan to list all available Windows installations on the hard drive. Type in bootcfg /rebuild to automatically replace the existing Boot.ini file.

    You can restore Ntldr, Ntdetect.com (copy these two to the root C:\ ) . Do so by using the Copy command and enter the source and destination. Both these files will be found in the i386 folder on the Windows XP installation CD. If you need the Ntoskrnl.ex_ file (also found in the i386 folder), use Copy command to place it in the C:\Windows\System32 folder using the Expand command. You can find the syntax for the Expand command here .

    Hope this helps.
    Deadeye81

    "We make a living by what we get, we make a life by what we give." Sir Winston Churchill

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    737
    Thanks
    23
    Thanked 64 Times in 52 Posts
    When you created the image, did you choose to make a single image file or multiple files? I've had issues with creating single files when using DIXML. For workstations I prefer to use the free Macruim Reflect. It seems to be a bit more reliable, and a whole lot faster in the restore process.
    Chuck

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Monee, Illinois
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks everyone for your ideas and help.

    I finally switched over and used Acronis True Image. It worked fine. It was also easier and faster than the DIXml and was able to clone directly from the old primary HD to the new one.

    Thanks again.

    Greg

  6. #6
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Dundee, Scotland
    Posts
    404
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I know that this is solved, I also know that this question has been asked before and at that time, I referred to OP to this thread where I detailed the steps I used to sort out a similar glitch or set of glitches.

    [blows own trumpet]
    John (Unreconstructed Jacobite)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •