Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Midwest USA
    Posts
    120
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    I'm trying to avoid buying a CPU upgrade simply to get a chip with virtualization, so I can run MS Virtual PC on my Win 7 system. Boss is cheap

    So, I'm running VPC on a decent XP box...Pentium D (dual core), 1.5 GB RAM, and plenty of HDD space. Win 7 is indeed installing, but after three hours it's still at 66% Expanding Windows Files. The VM has a gig of RAM and 35 GB hdd space. I've loaded Win 7 on less hardware and it installs at a normal pace, so I'm a bit lost as to why this is taking all day.

    Gahh! Any ideas?

    -John

  2. #2
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,191
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 986 Times in 916 Posts
    Maybe it's VPC? I've go it humming on VMWare server.

    cheers, Paul

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Midwest USA
    Posts
    120
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Well, that could be, but I don't know how to troubleshoot it. I am using the SP-1 version. The CPU is hardly working, and the VM is using about 17MB of RAM. The DVD drive is blinking furiously.

    Well, it's at 89% now, just a short way to go.

    I hope.

  4. #4
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Midwest USA
    Posts
    120
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Just to follow up, it eventually installed, took six hours. According to Computer > Properties the VM is running at 17 MHz. That explains the slows.

    The host PC is running at 2.8 GHz, and CPU usage is low. Hmm. Good thing I only need this for capturing the installation steps.

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    162
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    VMware Lite I'm on the desktop in 20 mins I'd say but I allocate it half of my 6Gb and whatever else it need's, 4 cores
    Understand about boss being cheap though, yes I do but this is my home system

    installation steps?

  6. #6
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Midwest USA
    Posts
    120
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    I need to capture the Win 7 installation screens.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •