New Lounger
    Thanks
    Hello,

Quite a few months back, I asked this forum how to update fields when the Update Field option was grayed out in the right-click pop-up menu (Select All + F9 didn't work either). In short, I was unable to update captions and cross-references after deleting and adding pictures. A hero whose name I don't recall advised that the fields might be locked. He suggested The Fix: press Ctrl+Shift+F11 then retry the Select All + F9 method. It worked!

Today I had the same field update problem, looked up my note about The Fix, and used it. All was well, until I discovered that several Word drawings had vanished from the document (which contains both JPEGs and Word drawings). Just plain vanished. [For background, I'm a self-employed tech writer. I often put screenshots (JPEGs) in docs but I rarely draw illustrations -- however, I did for this current project. So I am no Draw expert, but reasonably adept with graphics software in general.]

Luckily, I had a backup and I replaced the drawings. The next time I needed to update the fields, they were locked. I retried The Fix and again, it unlocked the fields but vanished the drawings.

Anyone have any ideas? Can't a person have BOTH up-to-date cross-references and drawings? Gah.

Cheers,

Kelly

PS: I searched, but found no previous mention of this in Woody's Word Processing room.

Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by redbee View Post
    He suggested The Fix: press Ctrl+Shift+F11 then retry the Select All + F9 method. It worked!

Today I had the same field update problem, looked up my note about The Fix, and used it. All was well, until I discovered that several Word drawings had vanished from the document (which contains both JPEGs and Word drawings). Just plain vanished.