Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Kingwood, Texas, USA
    Posts
    112
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I am having a problem of late where my connection to the web drops off-line
    and I have to reset my router. I am using Firefox 3.6 and the problem only
    happens with access to the web; my Outlook remains connected and I have no
    problems getting mail. The problem with FF mainly occurs when I open a
    series of 5-6 tabs at the same time, almost as if the router is flooded and
    shutsdown. So maybe it is a router problem, maybe a FF problem (although
    when this happens no browser gets out), or could it be that my ISP says "no
    way" when it sees the multiple requests?

    Any insight appreciated.

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,606
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 620 Times in 555 Posts
    What operating system? Is it up-to-date with patches?

    Is there additional third party software installed to control wireless? If so, is it up-to-date?

    Joe

  3. #3
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,721
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 236 Times in 224 Posts
    Is the router up to date with firmware?

    cheers, Paul

  4. #4
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Kingwood, Texas, USA
    Posts
    112
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I'm running widows xp sp-3 and it is totally up to date, including today's patches. I'm running Belkin's firmware. I've been tempted to try dd-wrt but decided to hold off. The model modem is a F5d7230-4, version 2000. Firmware is latest version for this router.

  5. #5
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,721
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 236 Times in 224 Posts
    Odd that your email works but the browser doesn't, although they do use different ports.
    Try telnet to connect to a web site when you are having trouble.
    1. Open a Command Prompt.
    2. Type: telnet windowssecrets.com 80
    3. Type help
    You should see some text from the server. This shows your internet connection is working and the problem is most likely your browser.

    cheers, Paul

  6. #6
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Kingwood, Texas, USA
    Posts
    112
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Will do - thanks for the lead.

  7. #7
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Kingwood, Texas, USA
    Posts
    112
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Lost the connection. Tried your suggestion for a telnet connection but there was none. Checked email and it worked fine. Tried telnet to another site - still no connection. Re-powered the router and was connection reestablished and telnet connection verified. So problem has something to do with the port 80 connection apparently.

  8. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,606
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 620 Times in 555 Posts
    Have you done any configuration on the router that might limit access?

    Have you done any PC configuration to limit times/days, parental controls?

    Joe

  9. #9
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,721
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 236 Times in 224 Posts
    Could be a DOS attack on your router, check the router settings for anti DOS settings.

    cheers, Paul

  10. #10
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Kingwood, Texas, USA
    Posts
    112
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by JoeP View Post
    Have you done any configuration on the router that might limit access?

    Have you done any PC configuration to limit times/days, parental controls?

    Joe

    The only thing I've done is setup MAC filtering which works fine. No parental controls, etc.

  11. #11
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Kingwood, Texas, USA
    Posts
    112
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by P T View Post
    Could be a DOS attack on your router, check the router settings for anti DOS settings.

    cheers, Paul
    Router has DoS protection and it is "always" blocking DoS access (even as I speak now).

  12. #12
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,721
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 236 Times in 224 Posts
    Try turning the protection off and see what happens?

    cheers, Paul

  13. #13
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Did you find a solution? This sounds the same as the "On Network,but no Internet" thread.
    Is there a new, unidentified, type of malware?

  14. #14
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Kingwood, Texas, USA
    Posts
    112
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Stephen Woodruff View Post
    Did you find a solution? This sounds the same as the "On Network,but no Internet" thread.
    Is there a new, unidentified, type of malware?
    Still have the problem.

  15. #15
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,606
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 620 Times in 555 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by colblip View Post
    Still have the problem.
    Have you contacted your ISP and had them run tests?

    Joe

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •