Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Near Houston, Texas, USA
    Posts
    43
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    "This computer is set to automatically synchronize with `time.nist.gov.' This computer is set to automatically synchronize on a scheduled basis."

    Anybody know what the scheduled basis is, and how I can check/tweak that in Control Panel?

  2. #2
    2 Star Lounger zigzag3143's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    195
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Thomas Richardson View Post
    "This computer is set to automatically synchronize with `time.nist.gov.' This computer is set to automatically synchronize on a scheduled basis."

    Anybody know what the scheduled basis is, and how I can check/tweak that in Control Panel?
    TR

    I think the schedule is on the order of once a week, and not configurable through cpanel but there may be a registry hack.. Try a google for that.


    Good Luck


    Ken
    Microsoft Most Valuable Professional-- Windows Expert Consumer 2009---2015
    MCC 2013-2015

    Wanikiyi & Dyami--Team ZigZag3143

  3. #3
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    Look in the "Networking" section, If I remember correctly there is a link about changing the time sync schedule from
    the registry, by BATcher.
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Build your own system; get everything you want and nothing you don't.
    Latest Build:
    ASUS X99 Deluxe, Core i7-5960X, Corsair Hydro H100i, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum 32GB DDR4@2666, W8.1 64 bit,
    EVGA GTX980, Seasonic PLATINUM-1000W PSU, MountainMods U2-UFO Case, and 7 other internal drives.

  4. #4
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Kingston, ON, Canada
    Posts
    91
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I have been looking for an answer to this problem as well. My system cost over $1000 and I have a clock from the Dollar Store that keeps better time.

  5. #5
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Near Houston, Texas, USA
    Posts
    43
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Chet Copeland View Post
    I have been looking for an answer to this problem as well. My system cost over $1000 and I have a clock from the Dollar Store that keeps better time.
    Chet, if you [left-]click on the date/time, that will bring up a box that says at the bottom, "Change date and time settings..." If you click on that, you see three tabs. Click on the tab that says "Internet Time." In the new box, click on the box that says "Change settings..."; your Administrator will have to give his password. In the new box, check the box that says "Synchronize with an internet time server," then choose a server from the menu, then click "OK.". (I choose time.nist.gov -- which gives you Bureau of Standards time.) If before you click "OK," you click the box that says "Update now," your computer clock gets set to Bureau of Standards time.

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Leominster, MA USA
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I use Karen's Time Sync. Get it here: http://www.karenware.com/powertools/powertools.asp.
    You can update your system clock on any schedule you choose.

  7. #7
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South Carolina, USA
    Posts
    77
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    That link gave me a 404. This link worked for me: http://www.karenware.com/powertools/ptsync.asp

  8. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Thomas Richardson View Post
    Chet, if you [left-]click on the date/time, that will bring up a box that says at the bottom, "Change date and time settings..." If you click on that, you see three tabs. Click on the tab that says "Internet Time." In the new box, click on the box that says "Change settings..."; your Administrator will have to give his password. In the new box, check the box that says "Synchronize with an internet time server," then choose a server from the menu, then click "OK.". (I choose time.nist.gov -- which gives you Bureau of Standards time.) If before you click "OK," you click the box that says "Update now," your computer clock gets set to Bureau of Standards time.
    See How to configure an authoritative time server in Windows XP, Should be the same for Windows 7.

    Joe
    Joe

  9. #9
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Kingston, ON, Canada
    Posts
    91
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by JoeP View Post
    See How to configure an authoritative time server in Windows XP, Should be the same for Windows 7.

    Joe
    If I remember correctly, XP allowed one to set the interval between time synchronizations. Win 7 synchronizes on some schedule that is long enough that my clock can be out by nearly a minute. I don't know what the sync interval is but I would like to shorten it.

  10. #10
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Slough, Berkshire UK
    Posts
    924
    Thanks
    55
    Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Chet Copeland View Post
    If I remember correctly, XP allowed one to set the interval between time synchronizations. Win 7 synchronizes on some schedule that is long enough that my clock can be out by nearly a minute. I don't know what the sync interval is but I would like to shorten it.
    Try this in regedit. As suggested By Clint above.

    1. HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet001\Services \W32Time\TimeProviders\NtpClient
    2. Select SpecialPollInterval
    3. Change decimal value from 604800 (7 days) to some other value in seconds. EX: 86400 (1 day)
    Clive

    All typing errors are my own work and subject to patents pending. Except errors by the spell checker. And that has its own patients.

  11. #11
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Kingston, ON, Canada
    Posts
    91
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Curiousclive View Post
    Try this in regedit. As suggested By Clint above.

    1. HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet001\Services \W32Time\TimeProviders\NtpClient
    2. Select SpecialPollInterval
    3. Change decimal value from 604800 (7 days) to some other value in seconds. EX: 86400 (1 day)
    Thanks very much to you and Clint. I missed this little gem on my first read through the referenced thread.

    BTW, it is easy to change the time server to something closer to home (and hopefully yielding a more accurate time set) by Googling for "Time Server" and finding an appropriate one. Many require permission to use but there are many that do not. The local university will frequently have one. I use the server at the National Research Council in Ottawa. ( time.nrc.ca )

  12. #12
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    NSW, Australia
    Posts
    67
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    If you are wanting an alternate to editing the registry then Doug Knox has a time set interval editor here. It's in the Vista utilities but it works OK on Win 7.
    Bob
    Win 8.1 Pro - IE11, Office Pro 2013, Acronis TIH 2014
    Win 10 Pro preview 10162

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •