Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Mariposa CA
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I have the aforementioned evaluation/cleaner utility installed. It notified me (several times before I heeded it) that My (Vista) Windows firewall and the Kapersky firewall would interfere with each other, so I turned Windows off considering Kapersky the superior product. Now, of course, I'm being notified that there is a security breach in IE because all my (Windows) firewall settings are not enabled.So, what to do? I ignore one or the other. Which?

    I prefer Firefox and Google, but I'm trying to learn this OS and IE, because it's native.
    .
    Madly flailing in the ether

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts
    Do you have the 2010 version of Kaspersky Internet Security?

    Kaspersky should be able to communicate its status to the Windows Security Center. Is it possible that there is a problem with the configuration of the Kaspersky firewall? Does Windows show that the Kaspersky firewall is running?

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Slough, Berkshire UK
    Posts
    928
    Thanks
    61
    Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by GSWillett View Post
    I have the aforementioned evaluation/cleaner utility installed. It notified me (several times before I heeded it) that My (Vista) Windows firewall and the Kapersky firewall would interfere with each other, so I turned Windows off considering Kapersky the superior product. Now, of course, I'm being notified that there is a security breach in IE because all my (Windows) firewall settings are not enabled.So, what to do? I ignore one or the other. Which?

    I prefer Firefox and Google, but I'm trying to learn this OS and IE, because it's native.
    .
    Try turning off Kapersky rebooting and then turning Kapersky back on to see if windows then registers its status
    Clive

    All typing errors are my own work and subject to patents pending. Except errors by the spell checker. And that has its own patients.

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,593
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by GSWillett View Post
    I have the aforementioned evaluation/cleaner utility installed. It notified me (several times before I heeded it) that My (Vista) Windows firewall and the Kapersky firewall would interfere with each other, so I turned Windows off considering Kapersky the superior product. Now, of course, I'm being notified that there is a security breach in IE because all my (Windows) firewall settings are not enabled.So, what to do? I ignore one or the other. Which?
    You should not have to disable the Windows firewall. Kaspersky should communicate with the Windows Security Center when it is initialized and then the Windows firewall will be disabled. You want to leave the Windows firewall alone so it can protect your system during the time when you boot the PC before the Kaspersky firewall is initialized.

    Joe
    Joe

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Mariposa CA
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jscher2000 View Post
    Do you have the 2010 version of Kaspersky Internet Security?

    Kaspersky should be able to communicate its status to the Windows Security Center. Is it possible that there is a problem with the configuration of the Kaspersky firewall? Does Windows show that the Kaspersky firewall is running?
    I do have 2010 installed. I'll turn indows back on and check my settings in Kapersky (if I can figure the damned thing out!). Thanks all.
    Madly flailing in the ether

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •