New Lounger
    Thanks
    This is my first time to post and really hope someone can help on this........I bought a new copy of Windows XP Pro SP3, wiped my original WD 160GB and installed it on this harddrive. While installing other apps later, it lost sound and then also lost video. I then wiped the drive again with Secure Erase and still could not get it to install. It gives a message of "An installation of Windows XP found on this partition. Would you like to continue? or install to another partition?. I've tried both with the same results; it will start to format the partition and then freeze. I then bought a new WD 320GB drive, tried to install it there and got error message "could not copy certain (?) files. I then thought that it was possibly a bad Windows CD so I exchanged it for a new one and bought another WD 320GB harddrive. Again no luck,,,,would not install on the new hdd. I have wiped all the drives twice, cleared the CMOS twice, and still get the message "Another installation of XP found".
    Any and all help will be appreciated,
    Thanks

Thanks
    Hi Charlie and welcome to the Lounge!

I do not have a definitive answer to your issue, but if you want to check out this ZDNet link , particularly the Update III section, then maybe it will be useful in your situation. I do not know if you are using ATA or SATA drives.
    Deadeye81

"We make a living by what we get, we make a life by what we give." Sir Winston Churchill

5 Star Lounger
    Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Rogers View Post