Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Scott City, Kansas
    Posts
    56
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I have a fairly new machine that I would like to upgrade to W7. Not that I don't like vista because I do ( it is just easier for the wife to have all machines the same os). It is a Dell Studio and I would like to upgrade to W7 Pro because of the XP option because I have an important program that needs XP. I have never had upgraded a Dell to my own OS. Will their equipment and drivers still work? I have heard that sometimes it doesn't or is that just bull?

  2. #2
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    737
    Thanks
    23
    Thanked 64 Times in 52 Posts
    For the most part, Win 7 should have everything it needs to run on your Dell. Still, you'll want to go to Dell's web site and see if there are updated drivers for your particular machine. You may, or may not need them. If you are looking to use XP mode, you will need either Professional, Enterprise, or Ultimate. XP Mode is not available for Home Premium. If you have a legal copy of XP that's transferable to another machine, you can run it in a VM using Sun Virtual Box or other virtualization software.
    Chuck

  3. #3
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    First off, check for Windows 7 drivers on the Dell site, that should be easy and most likely they will.
    Be thorough with your checks brfore hand.
    Upgrade vs Clean instal; many recomend the clean instal method over an upgrade.
    Tweakhound.
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Build your own system; get everything you want and nothing you don't.
    Latest Build:
    ASUS X99 Deluxe, Core i7-5960X, Corsair Hydro H100i, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum 32GB DDR4@2666, W8.1 64 bit,
    EVGA GTX980, Seasonic PLATINUM-1000W PSU, MountainMods U2-UFO Case, and 7 other internal drives.

  4. #4
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Midwest USA
    Posts
    120
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    ...XP mode is only available if you have a CPU with virtualization capabilities. In fact, Virtual PC won't run at all under Win 7 without a proper CPU. Check the Intel site for a list.

  5. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,594
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ingeborgdot View Post
    I have a fairly new machine that I would like to upgrade to W7.
    You should run the Windows 7 Upgrade Advisor. Even though your machine is fairly new, it can't hurt to see if there is some hardware or software that will cause a headache.

    Joe
    Joe

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Brisbane Queensland Australia
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I agree with Joe run the Advisor before you do anything else.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •