Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Brookline, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    606
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I move my Outlook.pst file from desktop to laptop and back. I am puzzled by the Server message retention policy. In Outlook's Internet E-mail Settings/More Settings/Advanced I have checked the following:
    Leave a copy of messages on the server.
    Remove from server after 2 days.
    Remove from server when deleted from 'Deleted Items'.
    I then close my desktop Outlook and make a copy of Outlook.pst for the laptop.
    When I open Outlook on the laptop I get mail that was deleted more than two days ago. How come?
    HH

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Evergreen, CO, USA
    Posts
    6,624
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 60 Times in 60 Posts
    What version of Outlook are you using, and which has the settings you describe, the laptop, or the desktop?
    Wendell

  3. #3
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,197
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 986 Times in 916 Posts
    Some mail servers (Gmail at least) don't honour the delete requests from the mail client.

    cheers, Paul

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Brookline, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    606
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by WendellB View Post
    What version of Outlook are you using, and which has the settings you describe, the laptop, or the desktop?
    I'm using Outlook 2003 SP3 on both machines. The settings are the same on both.
    HH

  5. #5
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,197
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 986 Times in 916 Posts
    It will be the email server, not the client. What email server / service?

    cheers, Paul

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Brookline, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    606
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by P T View Post
    It will be the email server, not the client. What email server / service?

    cheers, Paul
    Computers are in two different locations. In Boston it's Verizon. In our Vermont home it's Comcast.
    HH

  7. #7
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,197
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 986 Times in 916 Posts
    After re-reading you OP I suspect it is to do with the way Outlook records what email has been downloaded. When you move the PST file between machines, the record of downloads is not retained and you then get a second copy. You could tell Outlook to delete the message immediately after download, but this gives you no leeway if you have a crash.

    cheers, Paul

  8. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Hampton, Vic, Australia
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Your Server will keep a copy until such time as you have moved the message from your Outlook IN Folder into the Outllok Deleted Items folder and cleared the folder.

    Hope that this solves your problem.

    Alan

  9. #9
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Brookline, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    606
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Alan Maher View Post
    Your Server will keep a copy until such time as you have moved the message from your Outlook IN Folder into the Outllok Deleted Items folder and cleared the folder.

    Hope that this solves your problem.

    Alan
    Sorry, but it doesn't. I always empty the Deleted Items folder before I close Outlook and copy the pst file. I assume that the next time Outlook goes to fetch the mail it tells the server that the Deleted Items folder has been cleared, allowing the server to delete those emails. Perhaps it has to do with how the server counts "days". Maybe The checkbox in Outlook which says Delete from Server after 2 days means three days to the Server. Or, should I click Send/Receive immediately after emptying the D I folder?
    HH

  10. #10
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Howard Hillman View Post
    Or, should I click Send/Receive immediately after emptying the D I folder?
    I would definitely try that. Not sure if that's how Outlook works, but it would be a good test.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •