Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
  1. 4 Star Lounger
    Thanks
    I know this maybe isn't the best place to ask this question, but here goes... does Quicken have any competition? I've been using Quicken for many years and I upgrade to a newer version occasionally in spite of the fact that the version I am using does everything I want. I don't like to upgrade because the later version always adds new characteristics that I don't like and don't use and don't want. I've recently been notified that my Quicken 2007 will no longer be able to retrieve stock prices after a date in April. My requirements are pretty simple so I'm wondering if there are any alternatives out there.

Is there a better place to ask this question?

Thanks,
    Bill

2. Subscribe to our Windows Secrets Newsletter - It's Free!

Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

+ Get this BONUS — free!

Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

Thanks
    This question probably should be moved to the "Other Software" forum. (Any moderator can do that if there is agreement.)

Historically, the main competitor to Quicken was Microsoft Money. I don't know whether that still is sold. In recent years, I think online competitors have sprung up; this assumes you are comfortable with having your data live in the internet cloud.

With respect to cost, some financial institutions have given away Quicken (or other personal finance software) or offered it at a discount.

4. 4 Star Lounger
    Thanks