Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    washington, dc
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Is it safe to delete album art in My Music folder? Why are the files considered protected operating files?
    Thanks.

  2. #2
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South of the North Pole
    Posts
    919
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Sure you can delete it but it may come back if any of your media players/organizers are set up to fetch album art from the Internet.

    They might be considered protected if one album art image gets renamed to folder.jpg so that it shows up as the picture on the face of a folder in thumbnail view.

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    These files are rather small and will allow a picture of the album cover to show in your player when playing. They do no harm and make the listening experience more enjoyable for some people. As Byron stated, depending on your player they may very well come back on their own. Unless you are extremely short on space, you will not reclaim much disk space by elliminating these files.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    BC Canada
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    True......as individual files they are relatively small ----but if your music collection is extensive, the cumulative total resources required to store and fetch them will eat up way more space than they are worth.
    Further, many media players slow down or skip while the graphics component and/or the pictures are loading.

    Most good players have a configutation setting which allows you to prevent their reloading once deleted. Look under 'Preferences' or 'Tools> Options'.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •