Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    210
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    to multiple cells or rows of cells?

    Marc

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Mt Macedon, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    3,993
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 45 Times in 44 Posts
    Does selecting them all first do what you want?
    Regards
    John



  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    210
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Tried that. You would think that it would work that way but apparently it doesn't. All I can find on google is doing it cell by cell!

    Marc

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Mt Macedon, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    3,993
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 45 Times in 44 Posts
    I just did a whole pile of cells that way (in 2007).

    In Access (where I am more familiar) I can do a number of controls at once, as long as they all start off with the same formatting.
    [attachment=88357:conditional.gif]
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Regards
    John



  5. #5
    WS Lounge VIP sdckapr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    11,225
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 342 Times in 335 Posts
    What formatting are your trying to apply? Multiple rows and cells are allowed in the selection and creation. You have to set the relative and absolute cell references as appropriate to be applied correctly.

    Steve

  6. #6
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    599
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Can you post a sample of what it is you're trying to format, and explain how you want it formatted? Thanks.

  7. #7
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    210
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I'm trying to apply it to a row of cells based on the value in one cell. It's Excel 2002 so it doesn't have some of the features of the latter versions. I've tried selecting the row and applying the formatting but it only gets applied to the first cell. So I have to do it cell by cell but once I get the row done I can C&P the row and it still works.

    Marc

  8. #8
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Weert, Limburg, Netherlands
    Posts
    4,812
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Just tried in Excel XP and it works as advertised: the CF is applied to all selected cells.
    Please try again and check if the other cells really have no CF applied (maybe they do have the CF, but it is wrong)?
    To check, hit F5, special and select the conditional formatting option.
    Jan Karel Pieterse
    Microsoft Excel MVP, WMVP
    www.jkp-ads.com
    Professional Office Developers Association

  9. #9
    WS Lounge VIP rory's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Burwash, East Sussex, United Kingdom
    Posts
    6,280
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 191 Times in 177 Posts
    If you are using a formula (as presumably you are), then you do need to ensure that you have the addressing properly. If you told us what the criteria are, we can help better.
    Regards,
    Rory

    Microsoft MVP - Excel

  10. #10
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    210
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    =(a1)="y" formats cells red white text, next =(a1)="n" formats cells green white text.

  11. #11
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    599
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Marc....can you upload a sample of the workbook/worksheet so that we can see what you're talking about...and then the proper code can be entered and you can take it from there? Thanks.

  12. #12
    WS Lounge VIP sdckapr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    11,225
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 342 Times in 335 Posts
    Not sure what you are after but some points to clarify:

    1) If Cell A1 is active when you apply those types of conditional formatting to a group of selected cells, then the A1 will be relative and in all the cells it will have the similar CY: B1 will have it based on B1, C1 on C1, etc [This is akin to NOT using formulas but checking that the cell's value to "y" or "n".

    2) if A1 is NOT active when you set this, the formatting will be relative to the offset of A1 to the active cell.

    3) If you want ALL the cells to be looking at A1 then you should use $A$1 in the formula [other variations $A1 or A$1 can also be used as desired]

    Steve

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •