Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    99
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Greetings,

    I have several home pages set in IE8 running under Vista on my 64-bit machine. When I start IE8 only the first home page in the list opens. This is fine since I often have more than one instance of IE8 open at once. When I want to open all home pages I click the home icon. IE8 under Win 7 works differently. Each time I start an instance of IE8 ALL the home pages open. This is very inefficient. What can I do to get the behavior from Vista into Win 7?

    While diagnosing other IE8 problems over the last year I learned that there is a 32-bit version and a 64-bit version of IE8. I wonder if that has something to do with this problem?

    Thanks, in advance, for your help.

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Most web pages are not ready for the 64 bit version of IE8. Open 32 Bit IE8 and check to make sure it is the default browser. This may solve your problem. Tools/Internet Options/Programs/Internet Programs
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  3. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    99
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Where do I find the 32-bit version of IE8?

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    On your start button/All Programs you should see both 32 Bit and 64 Bit IE. Choose 32 Bit
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  5. #5
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ted Myers View Post
    Most web pages are not ready for the 64 bit version of IE8.
    [s]This doesn't make any sense to me. Pages written in HTML and JavaScript are designed to run in any browser, and content such as Flash and Java are designed to work with the user's plug-in on any platform. Where have you read that 64 bit-ness affects web pages?[/s]

    Note: Please see subsequent post #831807 where I understood that ActiveX controls are specific to 32 and 64 bit versions of IE.

  6. #6
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    99
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    The behavior is the same whether I start 32-bit IE8 or 64-bit IE8.

  7. #7
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SamStamport View Post
    I have several home pages set in IE8 running under Vista on my 64-bit machine. When I start IE8 only the first home page in the list opens. This is fine since I often have more than one instance of IE8 open at once. When I want to open all home pages I click the home icon. IE8 under Win 7 works differently. Each time I start an instance of IE8 ALL the home pages open. This is very inefficient. What can I do to get the behavior from Vista into Win 7?
    In IE7 and IE8 on Windows XP, I get the behavior you describe for Windows 7. So you are seeing the default behavior.

    To customize this on your Win7+IE8:

    Tools > Internet Options > General tab, Tabs section > Settings... > "Open only the first home page when Internet Explorer starts"

    Success?

  8. #8
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    99
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    That solved my problem. Many thanks!

  9. #9
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jscher2000 View Post
    This doesn't make any sense to me. Pages written in HTML and Javascript are designed to run in any browser, and content such as Flash and Java are designed to work with the user's plug-in on any platform. Where have you read that 64 bit-ness affects web pages?
    ActiveX Controls are not allowed in IE 64-bit so if you need to access a
    page dependent on ActiveX (e.g., any page with Flash content), open an
    instance of IE 32-bit to access the page. (No, there isn't a 64-bit version
    of Flash, at least not yet.)
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  10. #10
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ted Myers View Post
    ActiveX Controls are not allowed in IE 64-bit so if you need to access a page dependent on ActiveX (e.g., any page with Flash content), open an instance of IE 32-bit to access the page. (No, there isn't a 64-bit version of Flash, at least not yet.)
    Thanks, I see now:

    The 32-bit version of Internet Explorer can host only native 32-bit ActiveX controls and other 32-bit Web page objects. The 64-bit version of Internet Explorer can host only native 64-bit ActiveX controls and other 64-bit Web page objects.
    (From: Differences between the 32-bit and 64-bit versions of Internet Explorer that are included in the x64-based versions of Windows Server 2003 and in Windows XP Professional x64 Edition)

    Yet another reason to avoid proprietary code on the web.

  11. #11
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jscher2000 View Post
    In IE7 and IE8 on Windows XP, I get the behavior you describe for Windows 7. So you are seeing the default behavior.

    To customize this on your Win7+IE8:

    Tools > Internet Options > General tab, Tabs section > Settings... > "Open only the first home page when Internet Explorer starts"

    Success?
    Jscher, Excuse me for jumping in here?

    Am I to understand that the 64-bit version of IE8's only available if your're running Windows 7?

    I'm asking because my new computer's in route and it will have Windows 7.

    Gloria
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  12. #12
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,583
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,058 Times in 927 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Duchess843 View Post
    Am I to understand that the 64-bit version of IE8's only available if your're running Windows 7?

    I'm asking because my new computer's in route and it will have Windows 7.
    The 64-bit version of IE8 is available on any 64-bit Windows operating system.

    Both the 32-bit and 64-bit versions of IE8 should be installed on your new PC. I recommend that you use the 32-bit version for every day browsing as Flash, Silverlight, & other browser addins are currently not available for 64-bit IE8. If you want to experiment with 64-bit IE8 that is fine as long as you are aware that some web sites will not work properly right now.

    Joe
    Joe

  13. #13
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by JoeP View Post
    The 64-bit version of IE8 is available on any 64-bit Windows operating system.

    Both the 32-bit and 64-bit versions of IE8 should be installed on your new PC. I recommend that you use the 32-bit version for every day browsing as Flash, Silverlight, & other browser addins are currently not available for 64-bit IE8. If you want to experiment with 64-bit IE8 that is fine as long as you are aware that some web sites will not work properly right now.

    Joe
    That's good information. I'm not a great experimenter, therefore I will use the 32-bit unless the program requires the other.

    Gloria
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  14. #14
    Lounge VIP bobprimak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Hinsdale, IL, USA
    Posts
    2,482
    Thanks
    176
    Thanked 152 Times in 129 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jscher2000 View Post
    This doesn't make any sense to me. Pages written in HTML and Javascript are designed to run in any browser, and content such as Flash and Java are designed to work with the user's plug-in on any platform. Where have you read that 64 bit-ness affects web pages?
    False. 64-bit browsing is way different from 32-bit browsing. Plug ins like Flash Player have to be completely recoded to work in 64-bit browsers. This is still a work in progress. Same with Javascript, due to the JRE (Java Runtime Environment) plug-in not being ready for 64-bit browsers, and web pages needing to be recoded to handle 64-bit browsers. It is an entirely different operating environment. HTML is universal, but scripting is not.
    -- Bob Primak --

  15. #15
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bobprimak View Post
    False. 64-bit browsing is way different from 32-bit browsing. Plug ins like Flash Player have to be completely recoded to work in 64-bit browsers.
    Yes, I learned that in a subsequent post in this thread. Thanks for pointing out my error again. I have updated my earlier post so I won't need to be reminded any more.

    Quote Originally Posted by bobprimak View Post
    Same with Javascript, due to the JRE (Java Runtime Environment) plug-in not being ready for 64-bit browsers, and web pages needing to be recoded to handle 64-bit browsers. It is an entirely different operating environment. HTML is universal, but scripting is not.
    JavaScript runs in a native binary, not through the JRE, so most JavaScript, unless it invokes Java objects, should run the same.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •