Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 21
  1. #1
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Naples, Florida, USA
    Posts
    1,231
    Thanks
    40
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Auto Start Windows 95

    In correcting an earlier problem with the aid of a computer manufacturer's help line, somehow the fix changed something so that Windows won't start automatically. When turned on, the screen indicates a need to "press ESC to boot" (and F1 to do something else). Pressing ESC does work, but can you tell me how to get back to having Windows go through its start up automatically, as it used to? Thanks for any suggestions!

  2. #2
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    New York, New York, USA
    Posts
    2,328
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Auto Start Windows 95

    Insufficient information - please tell what exact error message is (it can be hardware problem as well.)

    Just guessing - try to rename autoexec.bat to autoexec.ba_ and config.sys to config.sy_ (on C: root)
    and reboot. If it doesn't work, rename these files back.

  3. #3
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Naples, Florida, USA
    Posts
    1,231
    Thanks
    40
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Re: Auto Start Windows 95

    Since I'm nervous about playing with renaming auto exec files unless I have to (I'm techno-naive!), here is additional info:
    When computer turned on, get a DOS-type black screen with white letters saying "Press F1 to (something) or ESC to boot" and it just stays like that until I press ESC and then the usual boot begins. Is that enough info? If not, I''ll record what F1 part of message says when I turn machine on in morning.

    Thanks for your help.

    Linda

  4. #4
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,306
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Auto Start Windows 95

    Yes, but... it's the 'something' that's important. A passing thought : you're not booting with disks in the floppy drive or CD drive are you?
    You could also try pressing F2 or DEL before Windows loads to get into the BIOS. Once there find 'seek floppy drive at boot' and disable it. The boot up drive sequence should be C: first.


    Rgds

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Des Moines, Iowa
    Posts
    180
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Auto Start Windows 95

    Is it "Press F1 to enter Setup or ESC to boot"? If this is the case I'm guessing that your BIOS battery has died and is in need of replacing. Assuming everything in you BIOS is defaulting to auto-detect mode, then the error would be that the memory count has changed. No harm.

    As a test, if you get it into Windows, then Start|Shutdown|reboot, does it give you the same problem? It may be that this problem is only occuring after the computer has been powered down. Let us know. We can help!

  6. #6
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Naples, Florida, USA
    Posts
    1,231
    Thanks
    40
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Re: Auto Start Windows 95

    Checked the "something" and opening screen says "System Board Device Resource Conflict. Press <F1> for Setup, <ESC> to boot". When I tried pressing F1, I noticed that the 1st boot was the floppy drive and the hard drive was third! Should I try changing those 2 around first?

    Thanks for your suggestions and help.

    Linda

    PS I don't have anything in the A: or CD drives at start up.

  7. #7
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Naples, Florida, USA
    Posts
    1,231
    Thanks
    40
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Re: Auto Start Windows 95

    Thanks for helping! See previous messages in thread (from and to Merc) - am waiting to see if it might be the disk at boot choice before trying the BIOS fix. Will let you know.

    Linda

  8. #8
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Des Moines, Iowa
    Posts
    180
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Auto Start Windows 95

    Ahhh. Now we're getting close. MerC, jump in any time here...

    Have you recently added a modem or other card to your computer?

    I'm thinking you most likely have added a modem taking an IRQ that a serial port on the motherboard is configured to use. Hard coded IRQ's cannot be shared. If my guess is right you'll just have to turn off the appropriate serial port in the BIOS and you'll be good to go.

    First, though, let's ID just where the resource conflict is. I won't be available tonight, but I'll check back in the mornign. Perhaps MerC will be around?

  9. #9
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Naples, Florida, USA
    Posts
    1,231
    Thanks
    40
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Re: Auto Start Windows 95

    Wow! Thanks again for so swift a response! Okay. Did try Start/Shutdown/Restart this morning, with the same result. Also tried pressing F1 and changing first boot to C: and third to A: (reverse of what it was) - with no change (should I change them back?). An extra bit of info: the first screen to come up at start up or restart is the blue Hewlett Packard one; then, it switches into the system board screen.

    Re. modem: no, haven't added one - just have the original one that came with the computer (a Winmodem). This is, I'm pretty sure, a result of the various steps a rather perfunctory HP help line guy took me through to correct another issue before he gave up and told me to use my OEM's First Aid Recovery CD and clean my hard drive, but keeping my data. I do remember his taking me into this F1 screen, but don't recall at all the specifics of what he asked me to do (as I said, he was pretty perfunctory!). I did have to reload a parallel port added for me in order to use 2 printers on the computer.

    Hope this is helpful additional info. I really appreciate your - and MerC's - help.

    Linda

    <img src=/S/bow.gif border=0 alt=bow width=15 height=15>

  10. #10
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Des Moines, Iowa
    Posts
    180
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Auto Start Windows 95

    Just to be clear...
    You have one onboard parallel port and one parallel card that you added. Is that right?

    What is the IRQ of the onboard parallel port (found in BIOS)? And the IRQ of the added card (probably found by looking at the jumpers on the card)?

  11. #11
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Naples, Florida, USA
    Posts
    1,231
    Thanks
    40
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Re: Auto Start Windows 95

    Oops - you're losing me! Sorry, but I don't know what an IRQ is or, even worse, how to access BIOS. I can confirm that, yes, there is one onboard parallel port and one new one (it's an IEEE3284, if that helps) which was added by a technician who also guided me through reinstalling the software after the disk cleaning.

    Thanks again for being so prompt!

    Linda

  12. #12
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,306
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Auto Start Windows 95

    Hi
    A bit late on the scene, but :
    you accessed your BIOS, I imagine, when you changed the boot-up order. If not, try pressing F2 or DEL instead of , or after, F1.
    Once in the BIOS make that same change there. You definitely want the hard-drive (C: ) to be first in the sequence. You then need to look at your ports (probably under a Tab such as Peripherals. (Why, btw, have you got TWO parallel ports?) Check their settings :

  13. #13
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Naples, Florida, USA
    Posts
    1,231
    Thanks
    40
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Re: Auto Start Windows 95

    Got it (I think!). I have 2 parallel ports because, when I added an HP All-in-One to the system, it would only function on the OEM port. Since that port was used by our old faithful HP laser printer in combination with a Zip drive, had to aswitch them to a new parallel port and use the OEM port for the new all-in-one (and that sure wasn't easy to sort out for a non-techie type!).

    Re. winmodem, this is a relatively old system (97 with Windows 95) and am holding off on any new hardware until decision is made about upgrading the whole system. Appreciate, however, the suggestion.

    IRQ must mean "Internal Resource" something. Your instructions are beginning to sound a little familiar. It seems to me that I had to do something regarding enabling and so on when I had to reload the second port's software, as it had been removed inadvertently in the earlier disk cleaning.

    Will work on your suggestions over the weekend and let you know. Thank you very much for your suggestions and clearly stated assistance!

  14. #14
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,306
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Auto Start Windows 95

    IRQ= Interrupt Request, which is what a piece of hardware issues when it wants to communicate. ( #INT on more modern systems with PCI steering)

    Good luck!

  15. #15
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Naples, Florida, USA
    Posts
    1,231
    Thanks
    40
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Re: Auto Start Windows 95

    Hi again. Thanks for IRQ explanation. Finally got to try your suggestions. Can't seem to access BIOS as you suggested (when I press F1 at start up, when the conflict message comes up, I go into a screen that has the word BIOS on a line at the bottom, but the cursor will not go down that far. The only change I could make there was in which drive booted first and I had changed it from A to C as per your earlier suggestion). Pressing F2 or DEL did nothing either. :-(

    I got into device manager via control panel to check ports but all 3 (COM, LPT 1 and 2) showed no conflicts. I didn't see a listing for Serial Ports or is that COM?

    Realize I haven't managed to get into BIOS to follow your instructions exactly, but thought this additional info might help. Should I just leave things as they are and just continue to get into Windows manually, by pressing ESC at that DOS screen?

    Do appreciate your patience.

    Linda

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •