Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Netflix and SP3

  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
    Posts
    676
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I had to have XP SP3 installed last week to get on the office network. Ever since, I've not been able to get my Netflix to play on my pc while on the road for business. I am annoyed at Netflix's lack of direct customer support. Can someone give me a start as to why I could watch my westerns episodes on SP 2 but not on SP 3. I was at my account on Netflix and attempted to Activate my pc, but it's the same pc wiht a different service pack.Not sure how to proceed. TYIA

  2. #2
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South of the North Pole
    Posts
    919
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    It might help to know exactly where its failing and what error message there is if any. Are you using IE and was it updated to IE8? Do you know if Silverlight is installed for the browser since the update? Did the office network requrement also require any other software to installed besides SP3. Does everything else work normally such as browsing and flash and other media (YouTube and Hulu) and online PDFs?

    If you can browse and play other media online I would suspect that you need Silverlight to be reinstalled. If you're already signed into your Netflix account you shouldn't need any validation to watch anything through the browser, but make sure you aren't possibly missing the little bar popping up at the top of the webpage wanting you to confirm the download of Silverlight. Other than that, more info is required to make a better educated guess.

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polson, Montana, USA
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I've had something similar happen to me before with Netflix. Try logging in to Netflix then go "Your Account and Help" and then under the section "Watching Instantly on Your TV or Computer" click "Manage Netflix ready devices and computers." Netflix will have registered your computer as two different computers because you upgraded your service pack, one for SP2 and SP3. See if you can deactivate SP2 and then activate your computer again.

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South of the North Pole
    Posts
    919
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I'm going to see if I can replicate the problem; I use Netflix Play willy nilly on several different computers but can't say if I updated one to SP3 while registered with Netflix...here goes...

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South of the North Pole
    Posts
    919
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    ...whew! 143 updates and one SP3 install later (included upgrading IE from 7 to 8), the computer remembered my login credentials, determined my video quality, buffered, and began to play, and I didn't even have to mess with Silverlight, which I had thought might be an issue.

    Still haven't heard if there was additional software installed related to being able to get on the office network, possibly security or policy-related software, which can stop something like a Netflix connection in a heartbeat.

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
    Posts
    676
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thank you for all the insight, especially on Silverlight. I will try deactivating the laptop and re-activating it, along with the other suggestions. Will let you know. Thanks again.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •