Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Backp Exec 10D

  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    London/Kingston, Surrey, United Kingdom
    Posts
    518
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hi all,

    I have just upgraded sql 2000 to sql 2008 and created a new instance, when I try to back it up using Symantec Backupexec 10d I get an error. Please see the attached error.

    Your help will be much appreciated.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,577
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    Did you change the ports used by SQL Server? Are you sure the firewall on the SQL machine has the ports open?

    Joe
    Joe

  3. #3
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    London/Kingston, Surrey, United Kingdom
    Posts
    518
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I have not changed the port used by the SQL ,how can I check the port anyway and the firewall is not blocking it.
    Many thanks,

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,577
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by skender View Post
    I have not changed the port used by the SQL ,how can I check the port anyway and the firewall is not blocking it.
    You can use the SQL Server Configuration Manager to check the TCP port - Start | All Programs | Microsoft SQL Server 2008 | Configuration Tools | SQL Server Configuration Manager.

    BackUp Exec is looking for a specific instance that was configured when it was installed.

    Did you change the instance name?
    Are you running a side-by-side installation (i,.e. both 2005 & 2008 installed at the same time)?

    Joe
    Joe

  5. #5
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    London/Kingston, Surrey, United Kingdom
    Posts
    518
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by JoeP View Post
    You can use the SQL Server Configuration Manager to check the TCP port - Start | All Programs | Microsoft SQL Server 2008 | Configuration Tools | SQL Server Configuration Manager.

    BackUp Exec is looking for a specific instance that was configured when it was installed.

    Did you change the instance name?
    Are you running a side-by-side installation (i,.e. both 2005 & 2008 installed at the same time)?

    Joe
    Well,
    We had SQL 2000 and upgraded it to sql 2008, so all the databases were upgraded to 2008, we than created a new instance called"Finance" and when I try to back the new instance using backup exec I get the above problem, what do I need to check so it allows the backup exec to back up the new instance?
    many thanks

    Skender

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,577
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by skender View Post
    Well,
    We had SQL 2000 and upgraded it to sql 2008, so all the databases were upgraded to 2008, we than created a new instance called"Finance" and when I try to back the new instance using backup exec I get the above problem, what do I need to check so it allows the backup exec to back up the new instance?
    many thanks
    Do you have a BackUp Exec SQL Server agent?

    You should check the Symantec site to see if BackUp Exec 10d is compatible with SQL Server 2008.

    Joe
    Joe

  7. #7
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    London/Kingston, Surrey, United Kingdom
    Posts
    518
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by JoeP View Post
    Do you have a BackUp Exec SQL Server agent?

    You should check the Symantec site to see if BackUp Exec 10d is compatible with SQL Server 2008.

    Joe
    Hi all,

    Just found out the Backup Exec10d does not support SQL 2008 see the link: http://seer.entsupport.symantec.com/docs/278254.htm

    Thanks for all your help

  8. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,577
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts


    Too bad. That's a bummer.
    Joe

  9. #9
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    London/Kingston, Surrey, United Kingdom
    Posts
    518
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by JoeP View Post
    Too bad. That's a bummer.
    SQL 2008 does not support Backup Exec at all....Iwill come up with a different solution maybe do a back up through SQL management studio and then use the BackupExec to bakup the .bak.files

  10. #10
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,577
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by skender View Post
    SQL 2008 does not support Backup Exec at all....Iwill come up with a different solution maybe do a back up through SQL management studio and then use the BackupExec to bakup the .bak.files
    It is the other way. The latest version of BackUp Exec Symantec Backup Exec 2010 for Windows Servers supports SQL Server2008. See the SQL Server agent information at Symantec Backup Exec: Agents & Options - Symantec Corp.

    Unfortunately, BackUp Exec is not inexpensive to upgrade.

    Joe
    Joe

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •