Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: ATDMT Pest

  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    North Yorkshire UK
    Posts
    63
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    On many occasions, when I click on a link on a website, for example, looking at the properties in this link shows : http://www.top10-broadband.co.uk/go/...IxNjUtMC0wLTk5 instead of opening the desired website, I am being re-directed to the following address : http://clk.atdmt.com/CWG/go/10530041...&branchId=1231 which just opens a blank page instead of the target page I require.

    I am using Windows 7, and have tried both IE7 and Firefox but both give the same result.

    I have set my IE7 parameters as follows :
    'atdmt.com' is Blocked in 'Per Site Privacy Actions'
    In Advanced Privacy Settings :'Override Automatic cookie handling' is ticked : First Party cookies accepted : Third party Cookies Blocked : 'Always allow session cookies' ticked.

    I have carried out Virus/Malware scans using Kaspersky but no problems were reported.

    Can anyone please advise why this is happening and a possible solution?

    Thank You.

  2. #2
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    828
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 38 Times in 34 Posts
    Looks like you have some spyware. See if this helps:
    http://www.spywareremove.com/removeAtdmt.

    By the way, follow the manual procedures. I have not used (nor will I ever use) their remover app so I cannot couch for it.

    If that does not help, google "atdmt", this should offer additional help.

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Slough, Berkshire UK
    Posts
    928
    Thanks
    61
    Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Bill Norrie View Post
    On many occasions, when I click on a link on a website, for example, looking at the properties in this link shows : http://www.top10-broadband.co.uk/go/...IxNjUtMC0wLTk5 instead of opening the desired website, I am being re-directed to the following address : http://clk.atdmt.com/CWG/go/10530041...&branchId=1231 which just opens a blank page instead of the target page I require.

    I am using Windows 7, and have tried both IE7 and Firefox but both give the same result.

    I have set my IE7 parameters as follows :
    'atdmt.com' is Blocked in 'Per Site Privacy Actions'
    In Advanced Privacy Settings :'Override Automatic cookie handling' is ticked : First Party cookies accepted : Third party Cookies Blocked : 'Always allow session cookies' ticked.

    I have carried out Virus/Malware scans using Kaspersky but no problems were reported.

    Can anyone please advise why this is happening and a possible solution?

    Thank You.
    Tried both links on ff3.6. both take me to same TalkTalk web page.
    Clive

    All typing errors are my own work and subject to patents pending. Except errors by the spell checker. And that has its own patients.

  4. #4
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    254
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    For good measure I would still advise you to run an anti-malware software to scan your system for nasties that an AntiVirus program may not detect.

    Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware is a good starting choice.

    http://www.malwarebytes.org/mbam.php

  5. #5
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    North Yorkshire UK
    Posts
    63
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Thank you for your replies, however, despite following all your suggestions, the problem still exists every time I try to access the particular page, via the link quoted in my original post. I have scanned my laptop using 'Malwarebytes Anti Malware' (which I already had on my laptop), Lavasoft's 'Ad-Aware', 'Spybot Search and Destroy' and my resident 'Kaspersky 2010'. All scans used the 'Full Scan' option - where appropriate - rather than just a Quick Scan. None of these programs dectected any problems........ I did 'Google' atdmt before I submitted my original post but drew a blank as far as a solution is concerned.

    After deleting the http://clk.adtmt.com cookie from the list of cookies, and having this website blocked in both the 'Security' and 'Privacy' tabs of the 'Internet Options' settings, if I click on the stated link, I am still being re-directed to 'atdmt' and the cookie re-appears in the list.

    On further investigation, if I use just the first section of the address i.e. http://www.top10-broadband.co.uk/ , the desired website is accessed, so it would appear that the problem is being caused by the content of the latter part of the address ( go/MTYxNjgtMTYyMjgtMTIxNjUtMC0wLTk5 )

    Incidentally, The 'Kaspersky Internet Security 2010' includes protection against Malware as well as viruses, and is consistantly reported to be among the top security packages available, so I'm not really surprised that other Malware scan programs did not find anything

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Stockholm Sweden
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Have you checked the Hosts file for any strange redirections? Windows 7's Hosts file is located in dir Windows\System32\drivers\etc with filename Hosts.

    S-O

  7. #7
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    North Yorkshire UK
    Posts
    63
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Smile

    Thanks for your suggestion Sven. Having checked my Hosts file there is only the usual single entry ( 127.0.0.1 localhost ) so no luck there............

  8. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Stockholm Sweden
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I think you need an advertising blocker for Firefox (IE i do not use so much). I use Adblock Plus 1.1.3 and I tested with the TOP10 link and it worked!
    clk.atdmt.com was blocked and the top10 page was seen!
    I send you the contents of the HTML page for www.top10... and there you can see the url redirection for clk.atdmt.com (just for better understanding what happens).
    Advertising companys want's to collect statistics about users surfing habits. This is not dangerous but can be annoying for the user.

    Download Adblock Plus 1.1.3 for Firefox and install it.
    The following link should lead you to Adblock Plus:
    https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/fir...dblock&cat=all

    After install update Adblock's filter (start Firefox ->Tools->Addons-> go to Adblock-> Options->Add filter->put in clk.atdmt.com-> TEST TOP10.. AGAIN
    Hope it solves yuor problem.

    S-O

    TOP10.... HTML code

    <!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.1//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml11/DTD/xhtml11.dtd">
    <html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">
    <head>

    <style type="text/css">

    body {
    background: #fff;
    padding: 0;
    margin: 0;
    font-family: 'Helvetica Neue', Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif;
    }

    div {
    width: 300px;
    padding: 100px 0 0 0;
    margin-left: auto;
    margin-right: auto;
    text-align: center;
    }

    #tracking {
    display: none;
    }

    h1 {
    font-size: 20px;
    color: #039;
    }

    p {
    font-size: 16px;
    color: #039;
    }

    img {
    display: block;
    margin-bottom: 15px;
    padding-left: 100px;
    padding-right: 100px;
    }

    </style>


    <meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=ISO-8859-1" />
    <meta name="robots" content="noindex" />
    <meta http-equiv="refresh" content="4;url=http://clk.atdmt.com/CWG/go/189548050/direct/01/?href=http://view.atdmt.com/action/cwgtda_FormulaDigitalNot4Statistics_1/V3/ed.30270036/?href=http://broadband.talktalk.co.uk/products/broadband/essentials/?portalId=TOP10_BB&promoId=TOP0000&branchId=1231" />
    <link rel="Shortcut Icon" href="/_img/broadband/favicon.ico" type="image/x-icon" />
    <title>Loading...</title>
    </head>
    <body onload="setTimeout('document.location.href=\'http://clk.atdmt.com/CWG/go/18954805...#39;&#39;,1000);">
    <div>
    [img]/_img/broadband/loading.gif[/img]
    [img]/_img/library/merchant_logo/talktalk_logo_new_png_w80h50s2.png[/img]


    We are taking you to this deal on the TalkTalk website</p>


    Follow the instructions and sign up online...</p>
    </div>
    <div id="tracking">

    <script language="JavaScript" type="text/javascript">
    <!--
    var google_conversion_id = 1063123392;
    var google_conversion_language = "en_GB";
    var google_conversion_format = "3";
    var google_conversion_color = "ffffff";
    var google_conversion_label = "BYNdCJyxQxDA8_f6Aw";
    //-->
    </script>
    <FONT size="1">[AD]</FONT>
    <noscript>
    <FONT size="1">[AD]</FONT>
    </noscript>
    </div>

    <script type="text/javascript">
    var google_tracker="UA-1217221-1";
    </script>

    <script type="text/javascript">
    var gaJsHost = (("https:" == document.location.protocol) ? "https://ssl." : "http://www.");
    document.write(unescape("%3Cscript src='" + gaJsHost + "google-analytics.com/ga.js' type='text/javascript'%3E%3C/script%3E"));
    </script>
    <script type="text/javascript">
    try {
    var pageTracker = _gat._getTracker(google_tracker);
    pageTracker._trackPageview();
    } catch(err) {}
    </script>

    </body>
    </html>

  9. #9
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    North Yorkshire UK
    Posts
    63
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Thanks for taking the trouble to reply again Sven.

    I downloaded the 'Adblock Plus 1.1.3' program, as you suggested, installed it in Firefox (ver 3.6) and accessed the link in question again. However, exactly the same thing is happening when I click on the link which contains this address : "http://www.top10-broadband.co.uk/go/MTYxNjgtMTYyMjgtMTIxNjUtMC0wLTk5"
    I've had to add the inverted commas because this forum shortens the address to http://www.top10-broadband.co.uk/go/...IxNjUtMC0wLTk5 which does not show the entire address.

    I have checked that the Adblock Plus 'add-on' is active in Firefox and it is reported as 'enabled'.

    As I said before, it would appear that the problem is caused by the last part of the address ( go/MTYxNjgtMTYyMjgtMTIxNjUtMC0wLTk5 ) since if I shorten the target address to : http://www.top10-broadband.co.uk/ the correct page appears.

    I realise that this is generally not a 'dangerous' problem - just an annoyance, since clicking on the link only produces a blank page, instead of the desired page.

  10. #10
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Stockholm Sweden
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Strange!?

    Sorry for asking but did you update Adblock filter list with: clk.atdmt.com?
    Start Firefox ->Tools->Addons-> go to Adblock-> Options->Add filter->put in clk.atdmt.com and check that ABP symbol is red (means Adblock is activated).
    I have tested this by clicking on your link in the forum and it works for me.

  11. #11
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    North Yorkshire UK
    Posts
    63
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Hi Sven,

    Yes, I added the clk.atdmt.com to the filters, when I installed the add-on, and the 'ABP' symbol is showing Red at the top right of the display.

    It is indeed very strange. After accessing the website and being directed to clk.atdmt.com site, I had a look on the Adblock Plus preferences window, the 'Hits' counter for the clk.atdmt.com entry, is showing Zero ! I've attached a screenshot of this window. No matter how many times I access the site, the hit counter remains at Zero!!

    I think I'll just give up on this one - it's not really important - just an annoyance and only happens with the quoted website.............

    Thanks for your interest in my problem - it is very much appreciated [attachment=88404:adblock.jpg]
    Attached Images Attached Images

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •