Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: help please

  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Nova Scotia and Ontario
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    hello everyone .. i'm using xp pro, and today it shut down, then tried to reboot .. it keeps cycling like this and will not come right back to normal .. the option to start with "last known good configuration" got the desktop back for a minute or so and died again .. now that option does not appear again .. using my laptop to send this message .. any suggestions will be much appreciated .. thanks .. dave

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Deadeye81's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    2,654
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 113 Times in 97 Posts
    Hi J. David and welcome to the Lounge! Start your computer again, and immediately tap and keep tapping the F8 key as soon as the power comes on, until you see the Windows Advanced Options Menu. Tap the down arrow key until Disable automatic restart on system failure is highlighted. Press the enter key to begin the restart of your computer. If you see a blue or black screen with an error message write everything you see down so you can post the message back here. When you restart again, tap F8 again just like before, but this time choose the Last Known Good Configuration and see if you can boot normally without error.

    Windows by default will reboot continually when an error occurs. It is a good idea whenever you get a new computer or upgrade your Windows OS, to go to Control Panel | System | System Properties page | Advanced tab | Startup and Recovery | Settings button and uncheck Automatically restart under the System failure heading. That way you will have time to view any error messages generated by a system failure.
    Deadeye81

    "We make a living by what we get, we make a life by what we give." Sir Winston Churchill

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Bucharest, Romania
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    My supposition is that you have got yourself a poorly written piece of malware.
    If the above solution doesn't work, another solution would be to create a boot CD/flashdrive with an anti-virus (check on www DOT ubcd4win DOT com for a real good piece of work).
    Please remember to update AND configure your tools - read the help section on that site.
    Unfortunately, it would be illegal to upload an iso image, as this would violate Microsoft's licenses, but you can safely build your own using your installation disk (if available).
    For those with a soft spot for penguins, a light distro like DamnSmallLinux or Knoppix (CD) would allow booting in a graphical environment and for ClamAV scanning&esistemsdisinfecting. Also, ntfs-3g tools will allow to check NTFS filesystems while a quick search for open source registry editors would yield at least one result like "Offline NT Password & Registry Editor" (I believe it was Peter Nordhal's project)...
    I don't believe in universal panacea(s) and I don't trust any system that was compromised at least once. I recover the data and then perform a clean install. At my previous workplace I had several systems with SP1, then SP2, then SP3... installations that lasted way over 4 years, but when I had to "clean" them I preferred to retrieve data and give them a new install.

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Nova Scotia and Ontario
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    i've been going through the reboot cycle .. forgive me please, i'm not that knowledgeable about computers .. the option to "use last known good .. " has only appeared 2 times out of 30 or 40 attempts .. pushing f8 repeatedly has given a boot device order and i've selected the HDD .. option perhaps 6 times .. got the desktop back for about 10 minutes and started "malwarebytes ant-malware".. that started, then everything went black and reboot .. i did go to control panel and unclicked "auto reboot.." .. i have acronis true home 2009, but confess, i really haven't a clue other than creating 5 discs when i installed it last june 29 .. i also have a windows xp pro disc, but don't want to lose what i have ..(recording musician/songwriter) .. could the power supply be failing? .. or anything else? .. thanks for your considerations .. dave

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Nova Scotia and Ontario
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    oh and razvan-.. i actually did manage to download the ubcd4win to my desktop, but when i tried to open it, again it shut me down .. i'll try to get it with my laptop .. this system is "7 home premium 32 bit" is there anything i should know about compatability issues to burn a disc for the ailing XP pro? .. thanks .. dave

  6. #6
    Super Moderator Deadeye81's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    2,654
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 113 Times in 97 Posts
    Hi Dave,

    Your power supply beginning to fail is a possibility. If you know anyone who could check the voltage outputs from your power supply, that would be a good move as it would confirm good or bad power output. Spontaneous rebooting can mean a failing power supply, but malware, as Razvan has stated, could also be the root of the problem.

    Another possibility is overheating of your CPU. You mentioned you could get about ten minutes in Windows to do some things before it would reboot again. If when you have been in Windows for some minutes and the machine reboots, does it tend to reboot almost immediately before you can even get back into Windows? When you have been able to get ten minutes in Windows, has it been after your computer has been off for a while? If so, that could mean that it runs for a few minutes after a cold start until it begins to overheat. Have you ever opened your case and used a can of compressed air to blow out your CPU heatsink and the fans in your case? If not, either check those out or have someone familiar with going inside the case check it and clean it for you. Do you know if all your fans are running? Also check the fan on your video card if you have a video card in your case. Dust build up in any fans and especially in the CPU heatsink can cause a computer to rapidly overheat.
    Deadeye81

    "We make a living by what we get, we make a life by what we give." Sir Winston Churchill

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Nova Scotia and Ontario
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    thanks gerald .. initially i thought heat and dust, so yesterday morning i did take apart and blow and wipe .. it actually wasn't that dusty .. also checked the fans and blew dust off the blades .. this particular boot i am working with has been up for about an hour, but i also never touched it until now .. i've downloaded the ubcd4win file and am installing it on the laptop .. i'm assuming i will burn a disc to fix the desktop? .. a reason i wonder "power supply", is due to my wife and i noticing an electrical/burn smell .. i wrote it off as winter furnace, this went on for perhaps months .. the pc shut down overnight .. when i pulled the ac cord, one whole side of the plug was burnt right out, with no sign of any remaining metal contact .. would this consistent load shorting tend to shorten a "power supply's " life? .. i'll now try to send this and move to the laptop .. thanks ever so much for great response .. my respects to all windows secrets for your loss .. dave ps: have replaced and properly soldered connections

  8. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Nova Scotia and Ontario
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    now i can't access the ubcd4win program .. my laptop is telling me i don't have admin' rights and i am woefully lost as to how to correct this .. dave

  9. #9
    Super Moderator Deadeye81's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    2,654
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 113 Times in 97 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by J.David View Post
    a reason i wonder "power supply", is due to my wife and i noticing an electrical/burn smell .. i wrote it off as winter furnace, this went on for perhaps months .. the pc shut down overnight .. when i pulled the ac cord, one whole side of the plug was burnt right out, with no sign of any remaining metal contact .. would this consistent load shorting tend to shorten a "power supply's " life? .. i'll now try to send this and move to the laptop .. thanks ever so much for great response .. my respects to all windows secrets for your loss .. dave ps: have replaced and properly soldered connections
    Given the burning of your PC AC plug, I would probably replace the power supply. Of course if you have to take it to a computer shop to do so, they should check the output from the PS to confirm the need to replace it. How old is this XP computer? Maybe it would be a good time to get a new PC?
    Deadeye81

    "We make a living by what we get, we make a life by what we give." Sir Winston Churchill

  10. #10
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by J.David View Post
    i've been going through the reboot cycle ..this could be virus related or as Gerald said, hardware issues forgive me please, i'm not that knowledgeable about computers ....... that's why we're here.

    i have acronis true home 2009, but confess, i really haven't a clue other than creating 5 discs when i installed it last june 29 ..these will restore the system & data to last June 29th i also have a windows xp pro disc, but don't want to lose what i have ..(recording musician/songwriter) .. could the power supply be failing? .. or anything else? .. thanks for your considerations .. dave
    You could remove the HD from the XP system and use an IDE to USB adapter cable to slave it to your laptop and transfer your music data to the laptop and then burn a copy to DVD and put it in your safe. You could then run an AV scan on the slaved drive and also run Malwarebytes on that drive. If it's clean or after you clean it, reinstall it in the desktop and, after replacing the power cord (the entire power supply would be a better choice) and testing the system for shorts try booting up again. If it's hardware, the problem will still exist and you can make your own choices. But, I suspect it will boot up just fine.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  11. #11
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Nova Scotia and Ontario
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    hi again and thanks .. gerald and doc .. after 3 days of this, i have finally gotten back my pc .. i don't want to say it too loudly .. i somehow got into safe mode, then used acronis true image home 2009 and rolled back about a month .. i've tried using it on the game that started the whole mess .. after about 20 minutes it died again, but came back .. i still think i may have a heat issue, plus the power supply is very much in question .. i do like the idea of transferring to the laptop .. and .. this pc is less than 2 years old .. anyway folks .. i sure appreciate your help .. i'm crossing my fingers and going to bed .. hopefully it'll still be working in the morning .. thanks again .. dave

  12. #12
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Nova Scotia and Ontario
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    hello .. an update for you .. i took the pc back to the builder and he put in a new power supply .. i'm up again .. thanks .. and razvan .. i think you were right about malware also .. comodo alerted me to 5 instances that were quarantined and removed .. will try the ubcd4win again .. thanks dave

  13. #13
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by J.David View Post
    .. i somehow got into safe mode, then used acronis true image home 2009 and rolled back about a month Interesting that you were able to do this if you only created the 5 disks back on June 29, unless you have the program set to make scheduled incremental backups .. i've tried using it on the game that started the whole mess Use what on the game ?? .. after about 20 minutes it died again, but came back .. what died and what came back ?? i still think i may have a heat issue, plus the power supply is very much in question .. i do like the idea of transferring to the laptop .. and .. this pc is less than 2 years old in this case, you might need an SATA to USB setup to transfer the data..
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •