Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Nęstved, Denmark
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hi there!

    I'm going nuts!

    Whenever I search Google for anything, my browsers crash. If I type an address in the address field of the browser, they take me to that internet site, mostly without hesitation.
    A couple of times FF crashed on me when I was searching for a movie title on imdb.com.
    What is it with the seach fields on my computer?
    The problem has come creeping slowly up on me, gradually getting worse, so I finally decided to let Firefox go and try Google Chrome.
    Big bucket of icy water in my face!
    Different browser, same problem. So I tried to search Google in IE 8, which I only use for netbanking. Same problem: "Internet Explorer has stopped working"! So I tried searching bing. No improvement.
    No solution has come up, even though I allowed an internet search for one.
    I've had Firefox send a couple of dozen crash reports, no luck.

    I've come to the conclusion that the browsers themselves aren't the problem, so it must be Windows. I think.
    I'm no novice about Windows, but I'm no techie, either.

    Suggestions, anyone?
    Please?

    Claus, Denmark

  2. #2
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Nęstved, Denmark
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Forgot:
    Windows 7 Ultimate
    AMD Phenom II x4 920
    VIPRE Premium (I have tried turning it off, no difference in bad results)
    Latast versions of Chrome, IE 8, Firefox
    Secunia PSI and ViPRE sfind nothing bad

    So, do I have to reinstall Windows?

    Claus

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    828
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 38 Times in 34 Posts
    Sounds like you have a corrupted DLL, or perhaps a virus, especially since all three browsers seem to exhibit the same behavior. Did this just start happening or has it happened every since you got your PC (or since you installed Win7, whichever applies)? If it just started happening, you could revert to a previous restore point. Otherwise a reinstall might be the quickest way to solve this.

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Nęstved, Denmark
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I have just finished a reinstall as I'm writing this.
    I figured I could just as well reinstall Windows, as I have experienced pop-up windows in my browsers, windows from rather suspicious sites. Firefox usually blocks those pop-ups, and my Vipre antivirus/firewall usually blocks them too. So, since they've begun poppin', I fear that something was corrupt or infected, so I decided to reinstall.

    Thanks for your response.

    Claus

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Welcome to the Lounge!

    Just for informational purposes, was your original Win 7 installation a Clean Install, In Place Upgrade or a new PC with Win 7? We have an ongoing debate in this forum on which upgrade method achieves the best results. Thanks.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Nęstved, Denmark
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hi!
    The original Win 7 install was a clean one, not an upgrade.
    The recent reinstall was also a clean install, I formatted my c:-drive an started from scratch.

    Claus

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Thanks for the info. Does you OS seem better behaved now? If so, something became corrupted, hard to say what.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  8. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Nęstved, Denmark
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I think it's too early yet to say if the OS is behaving better. I don't think it is, but I guess time will tell.

    Claus

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •