Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    East Tennessee
    Posts
    179
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Thumbs up

    Lately my system has taken to a significant slowdown in refreshing the icons on my desktop.

    Can anybody advise me how to eliminate this problem?

    Thanks in advance!
    Win 8, Firefox 16.0.2, Thunderbird 15.0.2

  2. Subscribe to our Windows Secrets Newsletter - It's Free!

    Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pittsburgh
    Posts
    18
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    First and foremost have you run antivirus/antimalware/antieveryhing scans? I use AVAST and ANTIMALWAREBYTES. F-Secure has a very good, free online scanner - http://www.f-secure.com/en_US/securi...nline-scanner/

    What's running in the background? Something likely is hogging CPU. You need a "start-up manager" to see what's starting on boot as well as a task manager that shows everything that currently running, like "Process Explorer". Be very careful disabling thigns set to startup as some are required and you could get into a really bad place if you disable the wrong thing.

    Process Explorer - http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/s.../bb896653.aspx

    Cuper Startup Manager - http://download.cnet.com/CuperUtilit...-10778667.html

    Between the two you should be able to figure out if some running app is hogging CPU.

    If after going down this road you don't find anything obvious you can update your video drivers but if it's been running fine for some time with no issues then your drivers are most likely not your problem. You can go to your computer manufacturers website and look for more current drivers OR use PCWizard 2010 to see what video chipset you have on your motherboard then go to that companies website for drivers specific to your chipset - http://www.cpuid.com/pcwizard.php

  4. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    18
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    It could be that XP's icon cache is damaged, or that its value in the registry is too low. (It could also be that the registry entry has been removed by a registry cleaner).
    The easiest way to rebuild the icon cache is to change the screen's "Color Quality" from 32 bit to 16 bit and back again. This is done on the Settings tab of Display Properties.
    To increase the size of the icon cache, go to
    Code:
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\explorer
    and increase the value of "Max Icon Cache" to "4096".
    A little web searching for "increase icon cache" will give you links to REG files or scripts that will automate the process.

  5. #4
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    East Tennessee
    Posts
    179
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks for your reply.
    I used your idea "A little web searching for "increase icon cache" will give you links to REG files or scripts that will automate the process. " and found details that talked about a registry item "Max Icon Cache" that was missing. I have added it & will respond again when I have more results.
    Win 8, Firefox 16.0.2, Thunderbird 15.0.2

  6. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    East Tennessee
    Posts
    179
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Adding that registry entry seems to have taken care of my problem.
    Any thoughts of why it should have been deleted?
    Win 8, Firefox 16.0.2, Thunderbird 15.0.2

  7. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    18
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    I don't think that registry entry exists in a default XP installation. Without the registry entry, XP uses a default value of 500, which works OK until XP gets too big. The [s]"Max Cached Icons"[/s] "Max Icon Cache" entry is only needed to make XP use a value other than 500.

    [Edited to fix a silly mistake. Thanks to Terence Hines]

  8. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Brooklyn, New York
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Tim, did you mean to refer to two different values, "Max Cached Icons" and "Max Icon Cache," or just one, "Max Cached Icons"?

    http://support.micro...kb/132668/en-us

  9. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    18
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Aaah... sorry... it is "Max Icon Cache". Just the one entry.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •