Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Java Console

  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Leesburg, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    618
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I have 3 computers running Windows XP and Firefox 3.6.2. On one I am getting a message when starting Firefox that a version of Java Console is out of date. Under Tools>Add-ons>Extensions I see on this computer I have Java Console 6.0.02, 6.0.03 and 6.0.05. On another computer also running Firefox 3.6.2 I have Java Console 6.0.07, 6.0.13, 6.0.14, 6.0.17.

    What is Java Console? If I need these newer versions, how do I get them? Do I update each extension individually? On another computer also runnng Firefox 3.6.2 I have an extension Java Quick Starter 1.0. What is this?

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Many web sites use the interactive Java applets. This site shows how to enable the Java Console.

    My Java Console add on is v 6.0.18 I suspect you can download Java Console again to update to the latest version. Tools/Add Ons/Extensions/ check find updates.

    When you open the Java Console through Control Panel/ Java, there is a tab for updates. Try to update the java console there.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  3. #3
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts
    The Java Console isn't needed to run Java applets. You should go ahead and remove the old versions, if possible.

    If you have not already installed the "next generation" version of Java, you will need that. See: Why do I need Java 6 Update 10 and above for Firefox 3.6 and later versions? (Actually, I seem to have version 6 update 18 now.)

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Leesburg, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    618
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks all, updating Java from the Control Panel solved the problem. The PC with the problem had not installed a Java update since 2008!

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jscher2000 View Post
    You should go ahead and remove the old versions, if possible.
    The old versions could create conflicts between each other. You should see all the old versions in Add/Remove Programs in the Control Panel, and should be able to remove them here. I would remove all but the latest version listed, then use the update tab to install version 18. If, after this, you show 2 versions, remove the older version once again. All you need is one version. Unfortunately, Sun, like many other s/w distributors, do not do a good job of deleting old versions of their s/w.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Leesburg, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    618
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ted Myers View Post
    The old versions could create conflicts between each other. You should see all the old versions in Add/Remove Programs in the Control Panel, and should be able to remove them here. I would remove all but the latest version listed, then use the update tab to install version 18. If, after this, you show 2 versions, remove the older version once again. All you need is one version. Unfortunately, Sun, like many other s/w distributors, do not do a good job of deleting old versions of their s/w.
    Attached is a screen shot of my Control Panel Add & Remove Programs. As you can see there are quite a few Java entries. Which ones should I remove?[attachment=88421:Pgms.JPG]
    Attached Images Attached Images

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    I believe I would remove all the Java entries as well as the J2Se Runtime entries then go to Sun Java site and download the latest version. This will ensure all old versions are gone and the latest version is installed. I would consider using Revo Uninstaller to remove all traces of Java before downloading the latest version..
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  8. #8
    Lounge VIP bobprimak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Hinsdale, IL, USA
    Posts
    2,483
    Thanks
    176
    Thanked 152 Times in 129 Posts
    The current Firefox is version 3.6.3. And Java Runtime is Version 6, Update 19. I would suggest running Secunia Software Inspector, either on line or the PSI download version. Then follow the recommendations to each path where older and insecure versions are located on your computer. There are a lot of places those older versions can leave stuff behind. Remove all of it and download the current versions from Java.com. Firefox will probably supply everything you need except the JRE plug-in, which the current Java installer will put in for you. (Anyway, it did that for me.)

    Further update as of April 16, 2010 -- there is a new Java Update, so you should be on Update 20.
    -- Bob Primak --

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •