Thanks
    Outlook 2002 ver. 10.6856.6858 SP3
    Windows XP Professional, SP3
    Vidcard: ATI Radeon HD 2400 - current drivers

I've been using XP Pro and Office 2002 for several years now - recently I decided to change my screen resolution from 1024 x 768 to 1280 x 1024, the highest my current video card could handle.
    After changing resolution, the first time I opened Outlook and did a Send/Receive, it began receiving messes from the server and then, midway through the operation (say, 13 messages out of 25) Outlook just closed on its own.
    I opened Outlook again - it was slow in opening this time, but when it did open, none of the messages I had been in the midst of receiving showed up in my Inbox. When I did another Send/Receive, the same messages started to come in again. And then it closed again. Only when I reverted to 1024 x 768 was I able to pull in new messages.

I changed back to the higher resolution after receiving messages and browsed for articles describing similar situations, but I didn't find anything. I was going to post here right away, but decided to try updating my video drivers first. I did so - the newest drivers are no more than 2 months old - but the problem still occurs. I can't even pull in new messages in 1024 x 768 any more - Outlook crashed every time that I tried today. Prior to today I have been able to pull in mail every so often - it's harder when the machine first boots up - the first try tends to fail every time. Subsequent attempts tend to be successful (more often than not), but there is no discernible pattern. Today, though, I wasn't able to pull in new mail at all, no matter how many times I tried.