Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Maryville, MO
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I REALLY like the library feature of Windows 7 but have yet to figure out how to create a library that contains a ftp folder that I often use.

    Any tricks or thoughts would be appreciated!

    Pat

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Since the items in the libraries are just pointers to the actual folders, you should be able to add a pointer to the documents library that points to the ftp location. You would not actually put the ftp file in the library, just point to it from the library. Do a google search for libraries in Win 7 to get a greater explanation of libraries and how to use them.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Maryville, MO
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks Ted,

    I actually have about 15 different libraries...use them all of the time. But when I try to point to my ftp folder I get, "ftp.server_name.com can't be included in the library. Please select a different folder."

    Pat

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Sorry, don't know then, perhaps someone else has an idea.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    828
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 38 Times in 34 Posts
    So you are trying to include a remote FTP folder in a library? In other words, the folder is not on your PC but on another PC? Not sure if you can do that. I assume that when asked for the folder location that you specified a name such as "ftp://servername"

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Moorefield, WV, USA
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Have you tried mapping the FTP location to a network drive? This will make the folder appear as a normal hard drive with a drive letter in Explorer. If you don't know how to map a drive, click START/Help and Support, and search "map network drive."

    There may be some FTP sites that do not support drive mapping, but I have done it before on corporate FTP sites when I was in that trade.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •