Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    784
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I am working on a document set to a custom 4.25" x 5.75" size. Very often, when I make a change to a header, footer, or delete or replace a section break, or change the vertical alignment or hte margins, the section I am working with automatically changes to 4.13 x 5.83. I believe this is the size associated with A6, which is a standard, not custom size. I have to keep on going in and manually changing it back.

    I don't mind this so much (though I'd like to solve it if I could), as it only takes up about 20 minutes of my productivity per day. What I do mind is that when I printed it to PDF, the PDF was set to 4.13 x 5.83, even though under the Print | Properties | Advanced box, I set the paper size to 4.25 x 5.75 and even created a 4.25" x 5.75" custom page size under the Server Properties of Bullzip PDF Printer in the Printers dialogue. Why is this happening to me and how can I stop it?

    Regards,

    JMT

  2. Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    3,524
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 143 Times in 136 Posts
    This seems to be an old problem and might be solvable by creating a specific paper size in your printer driver rather than in Word itself.

    Here are some links that might be relevant.
    http://www.pdfforge.org/content/word...d-default-size
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/259140
    Andrew Lockton, Chrysalis Design, Melbourne Australia

  4. #3
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Chichester, UK
    Posts
    400
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
    It is the printer driver that determines which paper sizes you may use. It can be most frustrating, but the workaround is to use the nearest paper size and adjust the margins in your template so that it prints correctly on the odd paper.

    Terry

  5. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    784
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Apparently, the issue was with the particular PDF printer software, because when I tried it in Bluebeam, it came out at 4.25" x 5.75" size.

    But now I have a different problem. When I was printing with Bullzip PDF, I was able to get my 8.55 mb document into a 3.75 mb PDF. Now that I am using Bluebeam, my 8.55 mb document turns into a 31.7 mb PDF, and this is regardless of whether in the print dialogue I set the DPI to 600, 300, or 200 (and incidentally, the quality of the pictures looks the same in all three close up).

    When I print to 72 dpi, it's still way too big--18.2 mb, and the quality is quite bad (worse than my 3.75 mb Bullzip PDF file).

    How can I get the file size down while keeping good image?

    Regards,

    JMT

  6. #5
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jmt356 View Post
    When I was printing with Bullzip PDF, I was able to get my 8.55 mb document into a 3.75 mb PDF. Now that I am using Bluebeam, my 8.55 mb document turns into a 31.7 mb PDF, and this is regardless of whether in the print dialogue I set the DPI to 600, 300, or 200 (and incidentally, the quality of the pictures looks the same in all three close up).
    Does BlueBeam allow you to set the JPEG compression level?

  7. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    784
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    YES!

    Bluebeam offers three options for Image Compression in the "Save As" Dialogue that pops up when writing to PDF:
    - Photographics (JPEG)
    - Graphics (ZIP)
    - Default

    "Graphics (ZIP)" was selected by default. When I instead selected "Default," the resulting PDF size, which was written at 150 dpi) was reduced from 26.8 mb to 3.39 mb.

    Thank you!

  8. #7
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jmt356 View Post
    To my knowledge, the way Bluebeam compresses files is by reducing the dpi. The lowest level is 72 dpi, and that creates a file that is way too big (18 mb).
    I looked at one of their FAQs, and it said something about using Save As and choosing a photo/JPEG option, but I'm not sure whether that is applicable to your document (it was in the context of AutoCAD). Can you see anything like that?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •