Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Strange problem

  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Derry, New Hampshire
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Thumbs up

    I recently upgraded to Win 7 from Vista (both were / are Home Premium) However I do have a very weird problem that no one can seem to figure out. I use Driver Magician to keep my driver updated, but it will not run on Windows 7. Before I upgraded to Windows 7, I began having the same problem on Vista.

    I am running the latest version of Driver Magician. It installed with no problems. When I click to run it, the UAC comes up asking me if I want to allow this to run, I click to allow it, then,....nothing. I went to Driver Magician's support people and they said "I am sorry I can't find the cause of the problem."

    I decided to download the trial version of Driver Genious. It ran fine twice. Now it is doing the same thing.... how weird is that?

    I thought it was probably my Anti-Virus that was preventing it (I use Vipre from Sunbelt Software). So, I shut down Viper and tried to run it, but I get the same thing.

    Anyone have any ideas?

    (I did uninstall Driver Magician, re-booted, then re-installed it under Admin Privileges, still have the same problem.)
    Paul Bylin
    Author of
    The Other Casualty Of War
    WWW.THEOTHERCASUALTYOFWAR.COM



  2. #2
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cape Cod, MA
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I see where you installed under Admin Privileges. Have you tried running Driver Magician as Administrator?

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Derry, New Hampshire
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by John Carney View Post
    I see where you installed under Admin Privileges. Have you tried running Driver Magician as Administrator?

    Yes, I do try to run as Admin...
    Paul Bylin
    Author of
    The Other Casualty Of War
    WWW.THEOTHERCASUALTYOFWAR.COM



  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,592
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul Bylin View Post
    (I did uninstall Driver Magician, re-booted, then re-installed it under Admin Privileges, still have the same problem.)
    Do you mean that you ran the install package as Administrator (i.e. right click and select "Run as administrator")?

    Did you have Vipre disabled when you did the install?

    Have you tried the install in safe mode?

    Joe
    Joe

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Derry, New Hampshire
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by JoeP View Post
    Do you mean that you ran the install package as Administrator (i.e. right click and select "Run as administrator")?

    Did you have Vipre disabled when you did the install?

    Have you tried the install in safe mode?

    Joe
    I did install as admin and run it (or, attempt to run it) as admin.

    I did not shut down Viper when I installed it. I will try that right now.
    Paul Bylin
    Author of
    The Other Casualty Of War
    WWW.THEOTHERCASUALTYOFWAR.COM



  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Derry, New Hampshire
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul Bylin View Post
    I did install as admin and run it (or, attempt to run it) as admin.

    I did not shut down Viper when I installed it. I will try that right now.

    Ok, I did uninstall Driver Magician, then re-booted the computer. I then shut down Viper (Made sure it was completely shut down via Task Manager). In stalled Driver Magician as admin, but still have the same problem. Very strange.

    As a side note, I get the same problem when I downloaded and installed a trial version of Driver Genious.... it is just those two programs.... as I said, very strange problem
    Paul Bylin
    Author of
    The Other Casualty Of War
    WWW.THEOTHERCASUALTYOFWAR.COM



  7. #7
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,592
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    Did you make sure that you tried to install the most recent version that specifically says it supports Windows 7?

    Joe
    Joe

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •