Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Reading U.K.
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Morning all

    Just a quick question.

    In options if I have the setting set to "Leave mesasges on server until they are deleted", will archiving (auto or manually) also remove messages from the server?

    This is a basic pop3 account, no exchange server or anything like that.

    Cheers

  2. #2
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,188
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 983 Times in 913 Posts
    Archiving is not necessarily deleting, so you should test and see what happens.

    I set my POP3 to delete mail from the server after 7 days. Keeps mail volumes down and I can always get mail back if I have a machine crash.

    cheers, Paul

  3. #3
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by QPRWinst View Post
    In options if I have the setting set to "Leave mesasges on server until they are deleted", will archiving (auto or manually) also remove messages from the server?
    Hmmm, I think someone will need to test whether moving it out of the PST triggers a delete on the server, or whether the message has to at least enter the Deleted Items folder. If you have webmail access to the POP server, then you can see for yourself whether archiving removes the messages. Otherwise, someone else might have to test it.

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Reading U.K.
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Ok thanks a lot guys.

    Ill give it a test and let you know.

    Cheers

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •