Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Hawaii
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    All of a sudden I'm having connection problems with my Dell laptop b130 using Dell wireless 1370 wlan mini-pci c. There are no exclamation marks on the network adapter in device manager.

    In fact, all indications are I'm connected to the wireless network with a "excellent" signal. I trouble shot with the cable company by running services.msc and wireless zero configuration. Still not connectting, although here are the series of events when I open up the browser, IE, Firefox or Chrome, but mostly I use Firefox.

    Firefox will connect for about 2 pages and then gives me a notice that "Firefox is currently off line and cannot browse the web", from then on I get "server cannot be found" with Firefox and all the other browsers.

    When I choose a wireless network, It says I'm connected but same sequence as described above occurs. Any ideas? BTW, an ethernet cable plugged in works fine. The router is a Linksys wrt310n, wireless n. I've used this router before, successfully.

    Any suggestions would be great and thanks for the help.

    Additionally, I ran the dell diagnostics and everything checks out ok, all tests passed. I reseated the pci card and the antenna. I tried to run the wireless through another router, same model different router, same bad result, except when I don't connect wirelessly, then my wired connection won't work till re-boot. I'v also reinstalled the driver for the pci card but still no help. I'm not a newbie, and this has me confused.

  2. #2
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Runcorn, Cheshire, United Kingdom
    Posts
    372
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jonathan Gross View Post
    Firefox will connect for about 2 pages and then gives me a notice that "Firefox is currently off line and cannot browse the web", from then on I get "server cannot be found" with Firefox and all the other browsers.

    When I choose a wireless network, It says I'm connected but same sequence as described above occurs. Any ideas? BTW, an ethernet cable plugged in works fine. The router is a Linksys wrt310n, wireless n. I've used this router before, successfully.

    Any suggestions would be great and thanks for the help.
    Either the problem is with the router, or the laptop, or with the connection.

    Have you tried
    • connecting another computer?
    • using another wireless router?
    • using a different channel?

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Hawaii
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hi and thanks for your questions,

    I have other laptops on the router, quite a few in fact.

    I have the same model router in 2 different places and the problem is the same

    How do I change the channel on the router?

  4. #4
    Super Moderator Deadeye81's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    2,654
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 113 Times in 97 Posts
    Hi Jonathan,

    You can change the channel by accessing your router's setup page in your favorite web browser. You can find your router's setup page web address in the documentation that came with your router, as well as instructions on changing channels (at least there should be instructions on the Linksys web site). There should be several channels that are possible to select. Each channel is on a slightly different frequency, and changing the channel can help if some other device in the neighborhood is causing interference.
    Deadeye81

    "We make a living by what we get, we make a life by what we give." Sir Winston Churchill

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Burrton, KS, USA
    Posts
    833
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    In the USA there are only three channels that do not overlap.

    1, 6, and 11

    I have had trouble with win7 if I do net set the router to a specific channel (some routers will hop to least congested channels and 7 does not like this)

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Hawaii
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks Mercyh ,

    Unfortunately, I have found numerous issues with the Linksys wrt160n router. I did a search at dell.com and the issues were similar and frequent despite reboots, channel changes and firmware updates. The router appears problematic yet when it works, it works well. My wife can connect and I really don't use wireless at home, so I just let things go for now and if I find a reasonable router, I'll do the switch then. Thanks for everyon's help.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •