Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Lounger
    Thanks
    I know that this has been beat to death, but I'm still stuck.

I have one Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit machine and 4 XP SP3 machines.

The windows 7 machine can access all the shared drives on the XP machines.

The XP machines can print to printers physically connected to the 7 machine.

The XP machines can see the shared drives on the 7 machine, BUT when I try to map to them, I get an "access denied" message.

I've set all the sharing parameters on the 7 machine to allow sharing, to require no password and to allow full access. Still no luck. I've been at this for hours.

Can someone walk me through this, please? I'm not a novice. I've had sharing with the xp machines for years and going from the 7 to the xp machines works fine.

Thank you very much

Grant
    Ottawa ON

Administrator
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    Joe

Lounger
    Thanks
    Thanks, Joe. I have looked at that article. He concentrates mainly on going the other way. That is, getting 7 to see a shared drive on an xp machine. I have that running fine. It's the other way that is driving me nuts. I've read Woody's articles and some other on Windows Secrets. None of their suggestions work.

Administrator
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    Is your Windows 7 networking configured as recommended in the article?

What happens if you turn off your firewalls?

Joe
    Joe

5 Star Lounger
    Thanks
    If you are trying it share the USER folders on the 7 machines, access will be denied unless you add permissions for the EVERYONE or GUEST groups.

With password protection turned off, any file or folder that has permissions for Everyone or Guest can be accessed without authentication, HOWEVER, The user folders do NOT have everyone and guest permissions by default.

You should be able to access the Public folders without any need to change file permissions.