Thread: RTM notes

Bronze Lounger
    Thanks
    Yes, it's out there (& here) but I am not an expert, to put it mildly. There must be better sources than me, and I'm looking for them myself.

One item that did hit home and that might interest readers is that while there is indeed a 64-bit version of Office 2010, it's rather like the 64-bit version of Internet Explorer: forget it in the short run. If you are going to be an early adopter, install 32-bit Office.

As for me,I performed an entire whole new install around it on the spur of the moment, and I am preoccupied with setting up the silly computer I have it installed upon. (It wasn't as crazy as it sounds, but it sure is time-consuming.)

Star Lounger
    Thanks
    I have a TechNet subscription and MS even recommends using the 32 bit version of Office 2010 on the download site. I installed the 32 bit and it's running fine. Seems extremely stable. and I like the new ribbon in Outlook.

Bronze Lounger
    Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by apapkin View Post
    MS even recommends using the 32 bit version of Office 2010 on the download site.
    I confess: that was my source too, but I didn't provide attribution. The whole thing installed very smoothly and from what I have been able to do with it, which admittedly is almost nothing, it appears to be highly refined. The transitions are very smooth.

Administrator
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    The reason that Microsoft & almost everyone else is recommending 32-bit Office right now is that very, very few commercial Office add-ons and almost no local code or macros have been upgraded to run in a 64-bit environment.

I've installed the 64-bit version as I don't have any add-ons installed now and I'm the usual pioneer for things.

Joe
    Joe

Bronze Lounger
    Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by JoeP View Post