Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Is there a good reason why updates for MSE are classed as 'Optional' in Windows Update.
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    I suppose because not everyone thinks they are necessary. I for one disagree with that. I accept most updates including all MSE updates as I feel they make my system more secure and my use safer..
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  3. #3
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ted Myers View Post
    I suppose because not everyone thinks they are necessary.
    I take it you include Microsoft.
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Roderunner View Post
    I take it you include Microsoft.
    Yes I do. For the most part MS does a fine job with their updates. I do not remember a single update that back fired on me, but perhaps I'm just lucky. If I do find one that causes a problem, I can simply back out of it, or as a last resort, that's what I make images for.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Annapolis,MD,USA
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    MSE updates are automatic from within the app itself.
    It seems to me it would be unusual to update from Windows update.

  6. #6
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    The updates within MSE follow a specifically timed regimen that may or may not function based on whether the computer is on or off. Windows update is merely a backup for updates for MSE. This sounds perfectly reasonable since MSE is a product of Microsoft.
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Build your own system; get everything you want and nothing you don't.
    Latest Build:
    ASUS X99 Deluxe, Core i7-5960X, Corsair Hydro H100i, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum 32GB DDR4@2666, W8.1 64 bit,
    EVGA GTX980, Seasonic PLATINUM-1000W PSU, MountainMods U2-UFO Case, and 7 other internal drives.

  7. #7
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    My PC is on 24/7 and MSE showed its usual green colour, yet an update was available which as I said was optional.
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    This would depend on the timing of the update. If your PC is on 24/7 then at a certain time each day your signatures would update. However if MS issues an update it will begin showing up on the Windows Updates info until you get to the time of your scheduled updates at which time the update will be applied. This gives you the option of installing the update before your scheduled time.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  9. #9
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    I've always been in the habit of manually checking for updates, not just from M$S.
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •