Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Run As error

  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Thumbs up

    Hi all

    Our users have restricted domain user accounts (i.e. no admin rights). So we use the Run As command from time-to-time for admin tasks, such as running a defrag. However, since we upgraded from Windows XP SP2 to Windows XP SP3 with all critical hotfixes upto 25-March-2010, logon as a standard domain user & execute the Run As command, we get the error "windows cannot access the specified device, path, or file. You may not have the appropriate permissions to access the item". We can logon as an admin, right-click any EXE file & Run As fine but this defeats the object & is unnecessary, although it suggests it's a permissions issue.

    We have uninstalled IE8 and Run As works fine for standard domain users but it's not a practical solution because our company needs IE8 for various reasons. It seems the Run As command is reliant on Internet Explorer. Is it anything to do with the "enable memory protection to mitigate online attacks" option in IE8's Advanced settings? We've searched but cannot find any related Group Policy setting(s) to disable this option.

    We then looked at the Data Execution Protection (DEP) settings in 'Control Panel > System > Advanced > Performance Settings'. We changed the DEP setting from "Turn on DEP for essential Windows programs and services only" to "Turn on DEP for all programs and services except those I select:", rebooted when prompted and Run As now works fine for standard domain users. But we are concerned this will cause problems down the line so want to avoid changing the default DEP setting and even if we did we would need to find a way to automate this change on 1500+ machines (reg key or GPO?).

    Has anyone else encountered this Run As problem and overcome it, if so, how please?

    Thanks
    Scott

  2. #2
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,191
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 984 Times in 914 Posts
    That is an odd problem!
    Turning on DEP for all programs will not cause problems unless you have an old badly behaved program, in which case you can turn DEP off for that program.

    p.s. How do you have time to defrag users' machines and why would you bother?

    cheers, Paul

  3. #3
    Super Moderator Deadeye81's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    2,654
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 113 Times in 97 Posts
    Hi Scott,

    Have you tried resetting all your user permissions to their default values. They may have gotten muddled with the SP3 install.

    Check this out to see if it helps. The fix applies to many situations involving user permissions gone faulty.
    Deadeye81

    "We make a living by what we get, we make a life by what we give." Sir Winston Churchill

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks for your replies and I will check out the link you posted Gerald. However, we discovered the "secondary logon" service was stopped and set to manual so we started it and set it to automatic and Run As works as before.

    Hope this helps others.

    Scott

  5. #5
    Super Moderator Deadeye81's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    2,654
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 113 Times in 97 Posts
    Thank you for posting back your successful fix on this Scott. It will definitely be of help to others.
    Deadeye81

    "We make a living by what we get, we make a life by what we give." Sir Winston Churchill

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •