Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Kings Park, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    90
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    Hi,

    I have a Secure Receipts database (Access 2003 - has been running perfectly since 1999) which I will need to run at a later date under Access 2007 - some of my current users were given new PC's and instead of the full version of Access 2003 they were given Access 2007 run-time - this means that they cannot join the workgroup as needed. Is there an easy way around this? I understand from my own copy of Access 2007 on my laptop that User & Group Security can be used as long as the database is not converted to the new format. Yesterday, I copied the database to my laptop and re-created the User & Group permissions using the wizard and tested it out by logging on as different users and this worked great - however, when I copied everything back on to the network computer the database could only be used properly by someone with the full version of Access 2003 (after fixing the shortcut to point to the correct directories). Any assistance with this would be most appreciated.
    Maria
    Simmo7
    Victoria, Australia

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Mt Macedon, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    3,993
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 45 Times in 44 Posts
    You are right that a Secure Database can be used with 2007 provided it is not converted to 2007.

    I have not tried this with the Runtime, but I expect it would work.
    When you join a workgroup, Access applies the security settings to all databases. So it is very common to use the following strategy to open secured databases without joining the workgroup.

    The strategy is this. Open the database with a shortcut with the following structure, which means "Open the database using permissions from the specified workgroup file"

    "path to Access executable" "path to database" /WRKGRP "path to Workgroup Info file"
    "C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Office\Office12\MSACCESS.EXE" "D:\john\Access\Hopscotch\HopscotchSecure.mdb" /WRKGRP "D:\john\Access\Hopscotch\Hopscotch.mdw"

    You can optionally add additional switches for /user "username" /pwd "password"
    Regards
    John



  3. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Kings Park, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    90
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    John,

    I had already seen this structure when I needed to change the shortcut properties on the network computer, but still could not get it to work for other users, who had only the run-time version of Access 2007 on their PC's. What I need is to somehow get this working on the run-time or else get the network people to put the full version on their PC's.
    Maria
    Simmo7
    Victoria, Australia

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Mt Macedon, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    3,993
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 45 Times in 44 Posts
    When you say "the database could only be used properly", exactly what happens to the others?

    There could be another issue here. When you open any database with Access 2007 (including the full version) No Code is allowed to run, until you create a Trusted Location.
    Until you do that, you see a warning that certain content has been disabled. Is this what is happening?
    Regards
    John



  5. #5
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Kings Park, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    90
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by John Hutchison View Post
    When you say "the database could only be used properly", exactly what happens to the others?

    They got an error message (can't remember exactly what it said) and the database either would not load or loaded only the first time and not subsequently.

    There could be another issue here. When you open any database with Access 2007 (including the full version) No Code is allowed to run, until you create a Trusted Location.

    I will get our network people to look at this, as I believe that this sort of thing is restricted functionality.

    Until you do that, you see a warning that certain content has been disabled. Is this what is happening?

    I think I did see that message at some stage.
    Maria
    Simmo7
    Victoria, Australia

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •