Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Culver City, California, USA
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I'm running version 11.0.6002.18111 of Windows Media Player on my Vista Home Premium computer. When I first activate the player for the day, it takes about 2 minutes to load and play. After that, it will play right away. Any clues?

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Have you tried version 12 of the Media Player? There may be a compatibility issue with version 11 and your copy of Vista Home Premium.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  3. #3
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    Update to version 12 as Ted suggests.
    It might also depend on how you use & have it configured too.
    You can also check out Winamp as a replacement for music in windows media player.
    I generaly tend to limit media player to avi & DVD, and music files to Winamp, it works out nicely.
    A good alternative tertiary player is VLC for those codecs that WMP has trouble with.
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Build your own system; get everything you want and nothing you don't.
    Latest Build:
    ASUS X99 Deluxe, Core i7-5960X, Corsair Hydro H100i, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum 32GB DDR4@2666, W8.1 64 bit,
    EVGA GTX980, Seasonic PLATINUM-1000W PSU, MountainMods U2-UFO Case, and 7 other internal drives.

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South of the North Pole
    Posts
    919
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    If there's a lot of stuff in the player libraries it might be taking a long time to check on the Internet for various things that may be active in the media player options or there may be a dead link location in the URL or file history that times out before it gets properly ignored.

    Check the options, especially under privacy and clear the caches, clear the history, uncheck the Update music files by retrieving media info from the Internet,rigth management settings, check the devices tab and make sure everything listed there is valid and still active; things like that which it may be taking extra time to process at start up.

  5. #5
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,202
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 215 Times in 202 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ted Myers View Post
    Have you tried version 12 of the Media Player?
    Ted,
    Hello . Are you sure that "12" is available for Vista ? Just checked on my SP-2 machine and there is no update to "12" offered ? I have the same version as Barry. Also would recommend "Winamp Lite" as opposed to their full version ...comes with too much unwanted stuff (for my liking ) Regards Fred
    Attached Images Attached Images
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Fred J Usack View Post
    Ted,
    Hello . Are you sure that "12" is available for Vista ? Just checked on my SP-2 machine and there is no update to "12" offered ? I have the same version as Barry. Also would recommend "Winamp Lite" as opposed to their full version ...comes with too much unwanted stuff (for my liking ) Regards Fred
    Actually not positive, I know it is available for Win 7, unsure about Vista. Many drivers and apps that work in Vista also work in Win 7, and I believe the reverse is generally true, but I am unable to quickly find anything about Vista and V12.

    Here is a possible method of getting V12 on Vista.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •