Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    2 Star Lounger
    Thanks

TOP STORY

The 120-day Microsoft security suite test drive

By Fred Langa

Frustration with most commercial antivirus suites launched a long-term, real-life test of Microsoft Security Essentials, Microsoft's free anti-malware application.

In one of the rare extended tests outside a lab, Microsoft's software has quietly kept two Windows 7 PCs free of infections, even in dangerous public environments.

The full text of this column is posted at WindowsSecrets.com/2010/05/06/01 (opens in a new window/tab).

Columnists typically cannot reply to comments here, but do incorporate the best tips into future columns.

Last edited by revia; 2011-01-19 at 15:47.

4 Star Lounger
    Thanks
    I have been using MSE for around three months now. It is easy to install and has provided 100% protection using very few resources. - potentially the recipe for a winner.

My only quibble is its updating through Windows Update. There seems to be two and often three updates released daily, but although I have Windows Update set to notify me of any updates, it is tardy at doing so. (Note that I usually put my computer to sleep when I leave it and it hibernates after 2 hours.)

I seem to be forever launching MSE and using the manual update button. I suppose I could set Windows to do this for me automatically everytime it restarts.

Thanks
    In my experience with MSE. its updates appear in w/updates as optional with no warning that its not up to date. To make sure all was ok, I ignored them and on checking next day found MSE had been updated.
    -
    During the tests carried out by Fred Langa, he never mentioned what router or other he was using. I ran firewall tests at 'Gibson Research Corporation' with my firewall disabled and still got a 'pass' for all tests. I use a Netgear DGN2000 router.
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

Lounger
    Thanks