Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    On my 64bit XP Pro system, the submenus quit working. There are at least 3 different symptoms: 1) when I open "All Programs" and then hover the mouse over any menu that has submenus associated, only a shadow of the box appears, but no options are shown. 2) when I right click in IE on a toolbar that has additional items, only the shadow box appears and I am unable to see or select any of the additional options, and 3) in Outlook, when I right click on an attachment, I am unable to get the options to allow me to save the attachment.

    I do not have access to the 64bit CD as the system was preloaded, so have not run sfc /scannow to determine if any modules need to be restored.

    Thanks for any suggestions on how to fix.

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,576
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    Does 64-bit XP have System Restore?

    Joe
    Joe

  3. #3
    Super Moderator Deadeye81's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    2,654
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 113 Times in 97 Posts
    Hi Art, go ahead and try sfc /scannow as there is a good chance you have a recovery partition on your hard drive since your system was preloaded.

    Also consider System Restore as Joe suggested.
    Deadeye81

    "We make a living by what we get, we make a life by what we give." Sir Winston Churchill

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    This problem has cropped up else where, Here is one such posting. Another discussion on Tom's Hardware here.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks all.. I have tried the suggestions and the one thing that allows the menus to work again is to startup in SafeMode. Defining and logging in with a new user does not work unless in Safe Mode, disabling all services and startup modules does not help either. Using System Restore to go back as far as I can does not help. sfc /scannow did not find anything. Looking for more suggestions or questions..

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,576
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    Since safe mode loads with a minimum set of drivers, are all your drivers up-to-date?

    Joe
    Joe

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •