Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Londonderry, Ireland, Northern
    Posts
    159
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I am about ready for a big external drive - at least 500GB. USB2 drives are now half price - 60 for 1TB! But I don't know how the read and write speeds will compare with the internal SATA drive - will I find it frustratingly slow - should I wait for USB3 and pay full price?
    All help gratefully received!

  2. #2
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    Wait for USB 3??
    If you computer has USB 3 capability go for it. Otherwise get a drive with both USB 2 and Firewire,
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Build your own system; get everything you want and nothing you don't.
    Latest Build:
    ASUS X99 Deluxe, Core i7-5960X, Corsair Hydro H100i, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum 32GB DDR4@2666, W8.1 64 bit,
    EVGA GTX980, Seasonic PLATINUM-1000W PSU, MountainMods U2-UFO Case, and 7 other internal drives.

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by harrodsyd View Post
    I am about ready for a big external drive - at least 500GB. USB2 drives are now half price - 60 for 1TB! But I don't know how the read and write speeds will compare with the internal SATA drive - will I find it frustratingly slow - should I wait for USB3 and pay full price?

    I have a 1 TB Seagate USB2 Ext HD. I just backed up my 28 GB C: Drive yesterday. It took approx 10 minutes. I do not think that's too bad. As Clint mentioned, is you PC USB3 capable? As you have also mentioned the USB2 drives are getting dirt cheap.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  4. #4
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Chichester, UK
    Posts
    401
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by harrodsyd View Post
    I am about ready for a big external drive - at least 500GB. USB2 drives are now half price - 60 for 1TB! But I don't know how the read and write speeds will compare with the internal SATA drive - will I find it frustratingly slow - should I wait for USB3 and pay full price?
    See Tomshardware for soime specsa: http://www.tomshardware.co.uk/charts...hmarks,26.html

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Denver, Colorado, USA
    Posts
    126
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    I bought a 750G WD Caviar Black bare drive and an Antec external enclosure, actively cooled, with an eSATA port. I had a SATA connection available on my MB so I bought an iSATA to eSATA bridge. With the external drive installed, I can power it on and off and it's plug and play. Transfer rates are at the system bus rates. Total costs were under $200 from Newegg.

  6. #6
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,191
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 985 Times in 915 Posts
    eSata is definitely the way to go.

    cheers, Paul

  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger RussB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    803
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 50 Times in 49 Posts
    If you need to add a PCI card to get the USB3 connection the PCI bus will be a 'bottle neck' if you get a MB with USB3 onboard it will be faster than eSATA.

    So to answer your question, it depends, yes if you will have MB mounted USB3, no, if it will be PCI mounted.
    Do you "Believe"? Do you vote? Please Read:
    LEARN something today so you can TEACH something tomorrow.
    DETAIL in your question promotes DETAIL in my answer.
    Dominus Vobiscum <))>(

  8. #8
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,191
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 985 Times in 915 Posts
    Mechanical hard disks run about half USB3 speed so you won't gain anything. Besides, SATA is the native disk interface so it's a waste to convert it to USB and back again.

    cheers, Paul

  9. #9
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Londonderry, Ireland, Northern
    Posts
    159
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thank you, gentlefolk all.
    You are running far ahead of me.
    I just found out about USB 3 adapter cards and then read a review that said " big backups still take a long time with USB3, although it seems faster than USB2."
    And the explanation is already there in the forum waiting for me.

    After all your advice, I'm convinced: SATA is the way to go.
    I need to postpone the replacement of my Dell Dimension 5000 as long as I can.
    My internal SATA cages are both occupied.
    So, in words of one syllable if you please, what do I need to buy in order to go the eSATA way?
    All help gratefully received!

  10. #10
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,202
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 215 Times in 202 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by harrodsyd View Post
    My internal SATA cages are both occupied.
    So, in words of one syllable if you please, what do I need to buy in order to go the eSATA way?
    harrodsyd,
    Hello, i would like to add my experience with my PC. I added a PCI card from Vantec "6 Port SATA2 - 150" has two external eSATA ports (4 internal SATA) and can be set up "non raid" . I also tried and am now using a PCI card from "Promise Technology SATA 300 TX2 "which i like even better. It has no "raid option" just 4 internal ports, no set up required. (software download) As far as room in your tower i can relate (see attachment) this works for me but.... not for everyone ! (made my own mounts.. Have a metal lathe and milling machine) These cards can be purchased from "Tiger Direct, Directron, New Egg ,etc. Think the Vantec was about 30$ and the promise about 60$ don't remember Regards Fred
    Attached Images Attached Images
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  11. #11
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Chichester, UK
    Posts
    401
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
    Presuming that you have spare SATA ports on your motherboard, you can purchase a SATA to eSATA back plate (bracket). Here is a link to a dual port version, but StartTech also do a single port version. They are well under a fiver.

    http://www.startech.com/item/ESATAPL...-Plate-MF.aspx

    Once you have fitted the slot plate, you can then plug in an external HDD with eSATA port. There are many avauilble up to 2TB capacity. Or you can purchase a caddy and drive separately.

  12. #12
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Fred J Usack View Post
    harrodsyd,
    Hello, i would like to add my experience with my PC. I added a PCI card from Vantec "6 Port SATA2 - 150" has two external eSATA ports (4 internal SATA) and can be set up "non raid" . I also tried and am now using a PCI card from "Promise Technology SATA 300 TX2 "which i like even better. It has no "raid option" just 4 internal ports, no set up required. (software download) As far as room in your tower i can relate (see attachment) this works for me but.... not for everyone ! (made my own mounts.. Have a metal lathe and milling machine) These cards can be purchased from "Tiger Direct, Directron, New Egg ,etc. Think the Vantec was about 30$ and the promise about 60$ don't remember Regards Fred
    Darn Fred, that tower is overloaded to the gills. How do you keep everything cool? I'll bet you used more than one brain cell to build that.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  13. #13
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,202
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 215 Times in 202 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ted Myers View Post
    Darn Fred, that tower is overloaded to the gills. How do you keep everything cool? I'll bet you used more than one brain cell to build that.
    Ted, Hello... Things stay cool i think because of the "Killer" fan in the 750 W Corsair Power Supply. Also it seems that the power usage is about 150W or so (depends on whats going on) There are also more fans... on the rear of the tower , and on the VGA card, and the one on the CPU. As far as my only brain cell ..... i use to be a "senior technical specialist" in a galaxy far away and long ago. Regards Fred
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  14. #14
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Fred J Usack View Post
    Ted, Hello... Things stay cool i think because of the "Killer" fan in the 750 W Corsair Power Supply. Also it seems that the power usage is about 150W or so (depends on whats going on) There are also more fans... on the rear of the tower , and on the VGA card, and the one on the CPU. As far as my only brain cell ..... i use to be a "senior technical specialist" in a galaxy far away and long ago. Regards Fred
    You must have been my neighbor in that far away galaxy and what seems like a very long time ago. I'm just not into the building stuff anymore. I have a Dell XPS tower that is somewhat bare bones, and almost never get's fired up anymore. It has 32 Bit Win7, a relatively small HD (40 GB I believe) and sits collecting dust. My wife an d I both have Sony Vaio laptops with Win 7 (mine Ultimate hers HP) that we can sit in our easy chairs in front of the TV and tap away on the keyboards. I just seem to have run out of time to play with the PC. Between work and hobbies, I just have other interests than the PC. Perhaps that will change when I retire in a few years, who knows. Have a great evening. Have one for me.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •