Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Boston, Massachusetts
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hello Everyone,

    I came across a problem that has be not knowing what to do. I have Win 7 Ultimate and Office 2007. I wanted to send a fax from the Word program and when I tried to send the fax, I received a message that the data was invalid? I do not know why this happened and could not send the document I tried to send it as a attachment in the windows fax scan feature and still nothing. Any idea why this wont fax like its supposed to?

    Thank you

  2. #2
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    3,760
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 424 Times in 338 Posts
    Do you have any hardware setup for Windows Fax?
    Create a fresh drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Savvy?"—Captain Jack Sparrow "When you're troubleshooting, start with the simple and proceed to the complex."—M.O. Johns "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else."—Sir Thomas Robert Deware.
    Unleash Windows

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bbearren View Post
    Do you have any hardware setup for Windows Fax?
    I suspect not. Mike just because you have a S/W capability to fax, you would still need something like a phone line modem attached to a phone line (I believe that's what I did back in the day). These days most of these type transactions are done through email as far as I know.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Ashburn, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I agree with the previous post, though would like to add that a USB multi-function device works as well with Windows Fax and Scan (I use one that way)....

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jeff Gellman View Post
    I agree with the previous post, though would like to add that a USB multi-function device works as well with Windows Fax and Scan (I use one that way)....
    Yea, I have not used fax in a few years so I do not know what other H/W is available to accomplish faxing from a PC. I use email exclusively to send items now.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Boston, Massachusetts
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Well I do have a phone line attached to the modem. Its a problem with the data going from the Office program to the Windows Scan and Fax program. I do not know why the problem is there but I am still looking for a answer. I do not have any USB devices hooked up to the phone line.

    Thank you

  7. #7
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    3,760
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 424 Times in 338 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Michael Barry View Post
    Well I do have a phone line attached to the modem. Its a problem with the data going from the Office program to the Windows Scan and Fax program. I do not know why the problem is there but I am still looking for a answer. I do not have any USB devices hooked up to the phone line.

    Thank you
    Can you fax directly from Windows Fax?
    Create a fresh drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Savvy?"—Captain Jack Sparrow "When you're troubleshooting, start with the simple and proceed to the complex."—M.O. Johns "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else."—Sir Thomas Robert Deware.
    Unleash Windows

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •