Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,202
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 215 Times in 202 Posts
    Hello all,
    Sorry if this has been asked before, couldn't find an exact answer in "search" Thanks to all who have previously answered my questions about Windows 7, i am now sure of which flavor that i will purchase. (Home premium) . Here's the question ... The "box" contains two disks one a 32 bit OS and the other a 64bit OS .Seeing how my PC can use a 64 bit system i would like to give that a go.If on the other hand i try the 64 bit OS and for some reason i run into too many problems , can i then format and reinstall the 32 bit OS ? (using the same key) Or would this require a call to Microsoft ? Regards Fred
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  2. #2
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    162
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    64 bit is the way to go if your system will handle it. At first release was a bit of trouble but now I am glad I did cause most Applications I se have had no trouble. Should not be any problem to format as you said and go back to 32

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Good Morning Fred,

    No you do not have to contact MS. There is an initial 30 day trial period where you do not have to even enter your product key or activate Win 7. This can be extended up to 120 days by using the method shown here on How To Geeks.

    As far as the second part of your question, I believe you can switch from 64 Bit back to 32 Bit by doing a clean install. Here is a forum question on this. Later you can switch back, again by doing a clean install, but once activated I believe you will have to contact MS.

    Have a great day
    Ted

    edit: Fred I do agree with veegertx, you will be pleased with the 64 Bit version. I have to restate (I think I mentioned this in another thread) to get all the drivers you will need ahead of time. Since your system is a multipartitioned, multidisk, and multi everything system, I would use SIW to look through all devices to ensure 64 Bit drivers are available. If Win 7 specific drivers are not available then Vista 64 Bit drivers might work. You may have to use compatibility mode.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,592
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Fred J Usack View Post
    The "box" contains two disks one a 32 bit OS and the other a 64bit OS .Seeing how my PC can use a 64 bit system i would like to give that a go.If on the other hand i try the 64 bit OS and for some reason i run into too many problems , can i then format and reinstall the 32 bit OS ? (using the same key) Or would this require a call to Microsoft ?
    Whenever you change the "bitness" of the OS you MUST do a clean install. You should be able to use the same key. You may have to call Microsoft unless as Ted posted you do not activate the installation until you are comfortable with it.

    Joe
    Joe

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    737
    Thanks
    23
    Thanked 64 Times in 52 Posts
    Fred, I would venture to say that 64 bit will work fine for you. Aside from a few really old software packages, all of my important software works fine. A couple of things to check for are drivers for hardware peripherals. For example, my old HP ScanJet has no Win7 drivers, let alone 64bit. Some hardware only has Vista drivers. If they have 64 bit drivers for Vista, they will probably work fine on Windows 7 x64.


    Quote Originally Posted by JoeP View Post
    "bitness"

    Joe
    Bitness. I like it.
    Chuck

  6. #6
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    can i then format and reinstall the 32 bit OS ? (using the same key) Or would this require a call to Microsoft ? Regards Fred
    Yes, you can go back to the 32 bit version by means of a clean install if you so choose. You cannot install and run both, legally.
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Build your own system; get everything you want and nothing you don't.
    Latest Build:
    ASUS X99 Deluxe, Core i7-5960X, Corsair Hydro H100i, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum 32GB DDR4@2666, W8.1 64 bit,
    EVGA GTX980, Seasonic PLATINUM-1000W PSU, MountainMods U2-UFO Case, and 7 other internal drives.

  7. #7
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,202
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 215 Times in 202 Posts
    Ted, Chuck, Clint, JoeP , veegertx,
    Thank you all for your comments and advice, I will proceed with the 64 bit try as soon as i can purchase the new OS. (and my wife isn't watching) I'll post back, I'm sure that i will have many more questions. Regards Fred
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Fred J Usack View Post
    Ted, Chuck, Clint, JoeP , veegertx,
    Thank you all for your comments and advice, I will proceed with the 64 bit try as soon as i can purchase the new OS. (and my wife isn't watching) I'll post back, I'm sure that i will have many more questions. Regards Fred
    Fred,

    I will be happy to answer any questions for you as far as my one or two brain cells will carry me. If your wife catches on tell her I twisted your arm and made you do it.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  9. #9
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Bothell, Washington, USA
    Posts
    123
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ted Myers View Post
    Since your system is a multipartitioned, multidisk, and multi everything system, I would use SIW to look through all devices to ensure 64 Bit drivers are available. If Win 7 specific drivers are not available then Vista 64 Bit drivers might work.

    I am having a custom PC built and have chosen to have them install Windows 7 64-bit. My only concern is will all of my applications that I currently run under XP SP3 run on Windows 7 in 64-bit? Is the only way I can determine that to write or email each vendor and ask them? I have many applications.

    Also, in the thread above, Ted Myers refers to using SIW to determine device drivers. What exactly is SIW and where do I get it?

  10. #10
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dglarson View Post
    Also, in the thread above, Ted Myers refers to using SIW to determine device drivers. What exactly is SIW and where do I get it?
    System Information for Windows. Be careful it will give you so much information you won't know what to do with it all.

    If one or two of your old apps does not run in Win 7, if you have Pro, Enterprise, or Ultimate version of Win 7, you can set up XP Mode within your Win 7 environment.

    You can visit each vendors web site. They should have info on Win 7 compatibility to answer your questions. Having a new PC, or installing a new OS is a great time to consider dumping older apps that you rarely if ever use as well.

    This thread even shows a way to have a virtual mode similar to XP Mode if you have Win 7 Home Premium.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  11. #11
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    So Fred, any success with your Win 7 adventure? Haven't heard from you recently.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  12. #12
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Kennesaw, GA
    Posts
    67
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Just my observation on this. I have switched all of the major computers in my house (4, including putting my wife on X64) to Win 7 with only one problem and that was that there is no Palm Pilot USB driver for Win7, especially x64. I now connect and sync my Palm to an old XP box.

  13. #13
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,202
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 215 Times in 202 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ted Myers View Post
    So Fred, any success with your Win 7 adventure? Haven't heard from you recently.
    Ted ,
    Hello, as of yet i have not received my "7" OS yet.... (in the east Tennessee mail system) and still trying to decide on how to proceed. Whether to install on a formatted old system disk, or just partition off one of my drives , add another HD ,etc ....options are endless. Will post back with results of whatever ends up happening. Looking forward to "Quintuple booting" ! Regards Fred
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  14. #14
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Fred J Usack View Post
    Ted ,
    Hello, as of yet i have not received my "7" OS yet.... (in the east Tennessee mail system) and still trying to decide on how to proceed. Whether to install on a formatted old system disk, or just partition off one of my drives , add another HD ,etc ....options are endless. Will post back with results of whatever ends up happening. Looking forward to "Quintuple booting" ! Regards Fred
    I have a hard time keeping up with one OS, I don't know how you do it. Let us know. By the way I thought there was a limit of 4 Primary drives (4 OS partitions) Would you leave one OS "unplugged" to load Win 7? Have fun getting everything working.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  15. #15
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,202
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 215 Times in 202 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ted Myers View Post
    I have a hard time keeping up with one OS, I don't know how you do it. Let us know. By the way I thought there was a limit of 4 Primary drives (4 OS partitions) Would you leave one OS "unplugged" to load Win 7? Have fun getting everything working.
    Ted,
    You are probably correct about the 4 OS's .. but that has never been an obstacle for me in the past I'll just figure something out.I will consider "sixing" one of my Vista drives... if i have to.... Although I'll keep several backups of it until i can think of something ! Regards Fred
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •