Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Tennessee,USA
    Posts
    161
    Thanks
    24
    Thanked 17 Times in 15 Posts
    Hi all,
    Just finished an exasperating morning. Short story = cannot get Sandboxie working on 64 bit Win7 for some apps. Long story; I use Verizon Wimax for internet access. Recently downloaded their most recent access application. Their most recent application is declared compatible with Win7 32 & 64 bit. It works fine on my desktop XP 32 bit. I sandbox both the Verizon access app & Firefox for browsing. Been doing this for years. No problem at all in a weeks use with latest Verizon app on XP desktop.
    BUT, try this on my Win7 64 bit notebook & disaster strikes. The Verizon app works fine NOT SANDBOXED. It stops dead when sandboxed. Always will not connect Sandboxed giving error of no wireless access available. Remove SANDBOX & it works fine with no problems at all. Interestingly, Firefox works both Sandboxed or NOT.
    Not sure what is going on!!! Anyone got a clue???
    Michael

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    According to the Sandboxie web site a 64 Bit version of Sandboxie is available. The installer will choose 32 Bit or 64 Bit depending on your OS. This web site discusses the issue with system crashes after Sandboxie is installed. It does mention a possible work around.

    I have installed Sandboxie on my 64 Bit Win 7 Ultimate laptop. It installed well and seems to be working at this point. In fact I have the Lounge opened in a Sandbox. Not sure what might be happening to your setup. Do other apps seem to work OK? The specialized Verizon app may be having fits being sandboxed.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South of the North Pole
    Posts
    919
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I concur, even if 64-bit was working correctly with SBoxie on your system, in the notes about its use with 64-bit systems, they state that the program can only "suggest" that a program stay "sandboxed;" if the program decides not to listen to the suggestion...well, its not of much use at the moment.

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    It appears that Version 3.442 (April 17th release) has fixed some problems with the 64 Bit version. As stated I have installed it for evaluation. Byron, can you include a link to the report you refered to?
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Tennessee,USA
    Posts
    161
    Thanks
    24
    Thanked 17 Times in 15 Posts
    It appears that Version 3.442 (April 17th release) has fixed some problems with the 64 Bit version.
    Version 3.442 is what I installed. Yes it does sandbox Firefox properly and gets internet access, but, only if I leave the verizon app outside the sandbox.
    This is a radical departure from my XP system.
    My Win7 is Home Premium. I created my own folder for install. I don't use the system recommended folder. In looking at folder security settings, I can't see any problem. Unfortunately, Home Premium does NOT include gpedit.msc!!!
    Yes, I did try running other apps in the sandbox and apparently NO PROBLEMS at all.
    Somehow the verizon app just won't open properly in the sandbox.
    Still trying,
    Michael

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Have you contacted Verizon to ask them why this product does not seem to run in a virtual environment (Sandboxie is after all a virtual environment)? They may have a perfectly reasonable explanation. I do not have first hand knowledge of this app so have no other ideas what could be causing it, especially when all else seems to work ok.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South of the North Pole
    Posts
    919
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    http://www.sandboxie.com/index.php?N...ut64BitEdition

    excerpt:

    Windows, 32-bit or 64-bit, offers no official Windows kernel interfaces to monitor such accesses. However, on 32-bit Windows, Sandboxie can dynamically inject itself (in memory, not on disk) into the Windows kernel, and get a foothold in the procedure that connects one program to another. In 64-bit Windows, this injection is considered malicious and causes PatchGuard to crash the system. And yet, there are no official interfaces to supplement the lost flexibility in kernel programming.

    Thus in 64-bit Windows, Sandboxie can only "recommend" a program to not go out of the sandbox, but cannot mandate this. A malicious program could easily circumvent Sandboxie by simply ignoring these recommendations.

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    I see. I use Sandboxie strictly as a browsing tool, and thus do not anticipate opening apps within it's confines. This is the way I used it previously and this is the way I anticipate using it now. I do believe when using it in this manner it does provide another layer of protection that when combined with other security measures (AV, AM, patching, etc) will provide a fairly secure environment for my personal computing needs. Thanks for the info. I thought I had read this previously but could not find the link.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  9. #9
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Tennessee,USA
    Posts
    161
    Thanks
    24
    Thanked 17 Times in 15 Posts
    I see. I use Sandboxie strictly as a browsing tool, and thus do not anticipate opening apps within it's confines.
    The nice thing about the browser & ISP access inside the sandbox is that any changes made will be erased when the sandbox is closed. I do this with Firefox & the ISP app. So any bad guy changes are erased when browsing ends. In order to update either, i do that separately outside the sandbox. It might seem strange, but, several years ago, i found someone trying to zing my bookmarks. Any attempt to do this inside the sandbox is erased!!!
    I tried again this morning with no positive results. The situation is clear and repeatable. Both work in the sandbox in XP. The ISP app will work properly outside, but, not inside the sandbox on Win7 64 bit Home premium.
    If anyone is interested in shadowing this problem ISP link will get you the app.
    Scroll down the page and look for "Verizon Wireless UM175 7.2.1(2420b)"
    You won't actually be able to connect to Verizon without the registered USB dongle. However you will see how it works IF your computer has built in WIFI access. The app will find all available access points in your vicinity, both WWAN & WIFI. If you set the WIFI option for advanced, it will also show you signal strength, channel, address, and security protocol for any/all wireless spots in your neighborhood. Its a plus Verizon gives its customers.
    If you try running it inside a sandbox, it will just stop in its tracks, show nothing and do nothing.
    If you run it outside the sandbox, it runs and operates perfectly, giving both WWAN(if you have the dongle) and WIFI access.
    As of now, I have no solutions, but to run it outside the sandbox, meaning, it is vulnerable.
    Michael

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •