Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Midwest USA
    Posts
    120
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    I'm interested in what the Win 7 Startup Repair function does, in some detail. Does anyone know of a site with some info about this?

  2. #2
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    3,760
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 424 Times in 338 Posts
    Create a fresh drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Savvy?"—Captain Jack Sparrow "When you're troubleshooting, start with the simple and proceed to the complex."—M.O. Johns "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else."—Sir Thomas Robert Deware.
    Unleash Windows

  3. #3
    Super Moderator Deadeye81's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    2,654
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 113 Times in 97 Posts
    Hi John, here is on Microsoft link . Here is another from Windows 7 Forums .
    Deadeye81

    "We make a living by what we get, we make a life by what we give." Sir Winston Churchill

  4. #4
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Midwest USA
    Posts
    120
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Oops, I wasn't clear. I'm looking for detail, not the 20,000 foot view.

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Midwest USA
    Posts
    120
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Aha!

    I ran Startup Repair and looked at the diag and repair details (results), and found some good keywords for a useful search. Here's the result, and a fair amount of detail.

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Basically startup Repair can repair corupted system files in some cases. You can also get to System restore to attempt to restore to an earlier point. This is a very simplistic explanation and the links already given will get into much more detail.

    To attempt to reload an image in Win 7 you must work through Back up/Restore in Control Panel when using Win 7 back up utility.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •