Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    New Lounger DL2theEnd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Macomb, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    18
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Curiosity question.

    What setting in IE8 prevents video, pictures and the like from loading properly? I also use Chrome and everything loads fine.

    Example: Webpage for MLB.com opens fine in Chrome, but IE leaves voids where pictures and video are supposed to load.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Steve Cieslinski View Post
    What setting in IE8 prevents video, pictures and the like from loading properly? I also use Chrome and everything loads fine.

    Example: Webpage for MLB.com opens fine in Chrome, but IE leaves voids where pictures and video are supposed to load.
    Pictures and videos work fine on other sites? Do you have any IE add-ins that attempt to block ads or Flash or other players?

    Do you have any filtering set in your security software (e.g., firewall, or privacy settings) that could be blocking incoming content or stripping certain information from web requests (such as the referring site)? Of course, those likely would affect Chrome, too, so maybe not.

  3. #3
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    Check your settings in IE at the Multimedia section of Tools | Internet Options.

    Joe
    Joe

  4. #4
    New Lounger DL2theEnd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Macomb, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    18
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I should've added that this appears to have just happened, that is to say that it once worked. I can't say though when it started. I don't play around with IE settings very often. I use Chrome for most browsing, so I'm not without an alternative, but it annoys me that something within the IE infrastructure appears to be set differently.

  5. #5
    New Lounger DL2theEnd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Macomb, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    18
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Joe, all are checked except "show image download placeholders".

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Steve Cieslinski View Post
    Joe, all are checked except "show image download placeholders".
    Since you say this just started, have you tried a system restore?

    Joe
    Joe

  7. #7
    New Lounger DL2theEnd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Macomb, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    18
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    no I didnt Joe, but the error comes up as

    Webpage error details

    User Agent: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 8.0; Windows NT 5.1; Trident/4.0; .NET CLR 2.0.50727; .NET CLR 1.1.4322; .NET CLR 3.0.4506.2152; .NET CLR 3.5.30729; OfficeLiveConnector.1.4; OfficeLivePatch.1.3)
    Timestamp: Tue, 18 May 2010 00:20:47 UTC


    Message: Automation server can't create object
    Line: 19
    Char: 33037
    Code: 0
    URI: http://a.espncdn.com/combiner/c?v=20...js&debug=false


    Message: Automation server can't create object
    Line: 19
    Char: 33037
    Code: 0
    URI: http://a.espncdn.com/combiner/c?v=20...js&debug=false

  8. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    Have you disabled javascript? What IE addons do you have running?

    Joe
    Joe

  9. #9
    New Lounger DL2theEnd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Macomb, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    18
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Name Java Plug-in 1.6.0_20
    Publisher Sun Microsystems, Inc.
    Status Enabled
    File date Tuesday, April 20, 2010, 6:34 PM
    Version 1.6.0.20

    Name Deployment Toolkit
    Publisher Sun Microsystems, Inc.
    Status Enabled
    File date Tuesday, April 20, 2010, 6:34 PM
    Version 6.0.200.2

    Name Shockwave Flash Object
    Publisher Adobe Systems Incorporated
    Status Enabled
    File date Tuesday, January 26, 2010, 8:58 PM
    Version 10.0.45.2

    Name Adobe PDF Link Helper
    Publisher Adobe Systems, Incorporated
    Status Enabled
    File date Saturday, April 03, 2010, 7:36 PM
    Version 9.3.2.163
    Load time 0.01 s

    Name Groove GFS Browser Helper
    Publisher Microsoft Corporation
    Status Enabled
    File date Thursday, February 12, 2009, 4:19 PM
    Version 4.2.2.2807
    Load time 0.28 s

    Name Windows Live ID Sign-in Helper
    Publisher Microsoft Corporation
    Status Enabled
    File date Monday, March 30, 2009, 5:31 PM
    Version 6.500.3146.0
    Load time 0.00 s

    Name Groove Folder Synchronization
    Publisher Microsoft Corporation
    Status Enabled
    File date Thursday, February 12, 2009, 4:19 PM
    Version 4.2.2.2807

    Name Research
    Publisher Microsoft Corporation
    Status Enabled
    File date Friday, March 06, 2009, 5:04 AM
    Version 12.0.6423.0

    I can't locate where I can check to see if javascript was disabled.

  10. #10
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Steve Cieslinski View Post
    Message: Automation server can't create object
    That generally indicates that an ActiveX control either is missing or is blocked from instantiation by the site. (More specific diagnosis is difficult without knowing exactly what control the site is trying to use.)

    Among the many security updates for Windows and IE are the occasional addition of "kill bits" to the registry that mark ActiveX controls as off limits to web sites. Possibly some feature used by the site is no longer permitted by Windows/IE? It might work in other browsers because the site detects that ActiveX is not supported at all, and uses a different method of serving the content. If you can confirm it on other machines with the same versions you're using, I'd report it to the site.

  11. #11
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Northern Jersey
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    A simple test - go to Programs > Accessories > System Tools and open Internet Explorer (no add-ons). Test the website. If it works, Internet Explorer has been damaged by some sort of plug-in - possibly malware.
    MS MCP, MCSE, MVP

  12. #12
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    San Diego, CA, USA
    Posts
    89
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    It's a Flash problem!!! You're probably running the 64-bit version of IE8! There is no Flash available for the 64-bit version yet. Adobe is completely lame on this and has had plenty of time to develop it. There is no excuse why Adobe Systems has not yet gotten any Flash ready for 64-bit operating system since they've been around almost two years now if not longer! Look in your Start Menu and you will see two icons for Internet Explorer One is the 64-bit and the other is the 32-bit version. I have pulled both icons out onto the desktop and changed the icon on the 32-bit version to distinguish it from the other. If Flashplayer 10 is loaded, it should work! Until such time as Adobe Systems stops slacking on this we'll have to run the 32-bit version. The question is: why do we continue to use Flashplayer if it isn't being properly implemented. Maybe we should all switch over to Microsoft Silverlight and just dump Adobe altogether!

    Does anyone hate this editor as much as I do? This thing SUCKS!

  13. #13
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Allen Morse III View Post
    Does anyone hate this editor as much as I do? This thing SUCKS!
    To comment on the Lounge software, post here: Lounge Matters Forum.

    If you like, you can switch your editor in your control panel: http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/ind...sercp&tab=core (under Posting Settings, there's a checkbox for "Use rich text editor (RTE), not standard editor").

  14. #14
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Emigrant, MT, USA
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    The problem may also be related to a recently installed toolbar. I've found that third party toolbars sometimes break Internet Explorer to the point it will not even start up. I would suggest you try uninstalling any third party toolbars, then test IE to see if it now works as it should.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •