Lounger
    Thanks
    Hi there Loungers,
    I will be working at my PC doing normal businessesy things (I am a business consultant & lecturer, so will be most likely using any combo of Outlook, Firefox, Word, Excel, PowerPoint, Windows Explorer, Access, Paintshop Pro, Publisher).
    My tower PC will suddenly and unexpectedly shut down.
    How it happens: I will be working, then I will hear the fan start to whir. I have about three seconds from that sound before the machine has completely shut down. I try to frantically close programmes and save files (if I have Outlook open, I will close that first, as it takes most time).

The PC will completely shut off, then it will usually restart without me turning it on.

There appears to be no pattern in the open apps, instructions, load, time of day, number of programmes open or heat in the room. For example, I can have only Windows Explorer open, leave my office and come back to find that I am on the desktop again because the machine has shutdown and restarted on me, yet again. Yesterday I had two copies of Windows Explorer, then Outlook, Excel, Word, Adobe Acrobat Writer and Firefox open when it shutdown on me for the first time (I was marking student research reports).

My PC powered off yesterday when it was reasonably warm about 9 times (in about 10 hours), and has powered off once so far today when it is quite cold and overcast (in two hours).

My husband is an electrical engineer and has dusted the fan and the heat sink. He has checked the connections. The machine is pretty clean. I have looked at the Event Viewer and it shows nothing at all.

This machine is XP Pro SE with service patch two.
    I am using AVG anti-virus and it is up to date, as well as AdAware and Webroot Spyware Sweeper (weekly).
    I use PC Pitstop Optimise fortnightly to keep the registry etc trim.
    I back-up regularly (though that has become difficult with the shutdowns).

Help - this is driving me nuts!

Thanks