Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    England
    Posts
    569
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Making Customised Menus

    Hi,

    I can make a new Menu entry on Word2000's toolbar. But now I want to make my own submenus. How can I do that with Word? I can drag & drop my own macros, but don't know how to make sub-menus?

    Pls. advise me!
    Thanks,

    m.q.

  2. #2
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
    Posts
    85
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Making Customised Menus

    In the Customize dialog box, there's a Category called 'New Menu'.

    Drag the icon to the menu you want to add it to an it will set up a submenu for you.

    Hope this is what you need.

    Ian.

  3. #3
    calacuccia
    Guest

    Re: Making Customised Menus

    Step 1, is probably what you know: Tools/Cusomtize

    Step 2, go to tab 'Commands', and scroll down for 'New Menu >', and just drag and drop it onto the menu bar where you need it.

    While still in customize mode, you can now click one on the new menu, and it will expand (it is still empty now).

    Now, all you have to do, is drag another 'New Menu >' but this time onto your newly created menu item, wait for it to expand, and drop it in the empty expanded menu.

    This way you can organize and adapt the menu.

    To change the caption or name, right-click on any menu item while still in customization mode, and tpye the name in you would like in the name box.

    You can of course also drag and drop custom macros onto these menus.

    Good Luck
    Calacuccia

    P.S. The same method applies to Excel.

  4. #4
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    England
    Posts
    569
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Making Customised Menus

    Excellent; thanks for that.
    Next stage is I need to be able to export this whole menu structure (parent & submenus) to another template file.

    Using the Organiser, I can see just 1 name of a submenu listed. When I try to copy that, the destination DOT file's DOC's do not display any part of the menu.

    Pls. advise me!
    Thanks,

    m.q.

  5. #5
    calacuccia
    Guest

    Re: Making Customised Menus

    Now you should be able to see it at least in Tools/Customize if you look at the Tab 'Toolbars', after the template has been opened.

    Just check you menu, and it should appear.

    Calacuccia

  6. #6
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
    Posts
    85
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Making Customised Menus

    I don't know of a way to access the menus for a particular template other than by opening it.

    You could record the VB code for the process of defining the menu and then run that code with the other template open.

    Good luck!

    Ian.

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger Charles Kenyon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Sun Prairie, Wisconsin, Wisconsin, USA
    Posts
    2,049
    Thanks
    124
    Thanked 119 Times in 116 Posts

    Re: Making Customised Menus

    Hi,

    You will probably want to put your modifications into a global template to make them portable (and more durable).

    In constructing menus like this, they will break unless you are very careful.

    In all cases, you need at least one custom toolbar - even if the menu is going to go on one of the built-in menus. This is the holder for your menu because modifications to the built-in menus can't be transferred using the Organizer.

    Once you have your menu built on your custom toolbar, then copy it wherever you want it to be in your menu structure (Ctrl-drag while in Customize dialog).

    If that toolbar is not one that I will use, I close it before closing the template that holds it so it won't pop up every time I start Word. If I have a toolbar that I will use and also want to put some or all of the commands on the built-in menus, I build shadow toolbars to hold those.

    The shadow toolbar only holds surrogate menus for the built-in menus.
    MyFile MyEdit MyView ...
    These are constructed using the New Menu command in Customize - not the built-in menus! Their purpose is to hold the original of whatever customizations are being made to the built-in menus. They are not to be used, just to hold so that the Organizer will work with them.

    Generally, you want all macros referenced by the toolbar/menu in the same template as the toolbar. When you use the Organizer to move this to a different template, copy the macros first, then the toolbars. If you have multiple toolbars being copied, copy all of them multiple times (at least two, I do it three times). This seems to make the menus actually be there rather than just a name with nothing under it.


    See http://www.addbalance.com/usersguide/templates.htm for information on how to make a template global and also the links therein on How to Create a Template.

    If you want to see what a global template with such a toolbar looks like, feel free to download the following:

    Legal Toolbars (based on Word 97 for Law Firms)
    http://www.addbalance.com/word/downl...alToolbars.zip
    http://www.addbalance.com/word/download/gender.zip
    (The second is my gender toolbar described at:
    http://www.addbalance.com/word/download/index.htm

    Hope this helps.
    Charles Kyle Kenyon
    Madison, Wisconsin

  8. #8
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Nuremberg, Bayern
    Posts
    38
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Making Customised Menus

    Hi,

    I know that in one of the past versions of Word one could customize the right-click mouse menu. I did that then and have since carried over the normal.dot file with those commands in it.

    I've been trying to get a few new things into Word 2000 but cannot seem to manage.

    Any ideas?

    Greetings from Nuremberg, Germany

    Randy

  9. #9
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Making Customised Menus

    Hi rrnbg:

    With the customize dialog box open, click the toolbars tab. Scroll to the bottom & you will see an entry called Shortcut Menus. These are the menus that pop up when you right click. You can then customize these menus.

    Hope this helps.

  10. #10
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Nuremberg, Bayern
    Posts
    38
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Making Customised Menus

    Hi,

    Not quite. I know of that possibility but I'm still missing how to programm the menu which pops up when you right click the MOUSE in just normal text.

    Randy

  11. #11
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Making Customised Menus

    Hi Randy:

    1. Open the customize dialog box
    2. Click the toolbars tab & scroll to "Shortcut menus"
    3. Tick the shortcut menus & 3 menus will appear.
    4. Now go back to the commands tab.
    5. Under catagories, choose All Commands
    6. Under Commands, scroll until you find the command you wish to add. Right click it & drag to the text shortcut menu. Be careful not to release the mouse button.
    7. When the text menu expands, drag the mouse to the "text" menu near the bottom.
    8. It will expand, release the mouse button where you want the new command to appear. You can also drag commands off the menus.
    9. When you're done, close the customize box.

    Hope this helps.

  12. #12
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Nuremberg, Bayern
    Posts
    38
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Making Customised Menus

    Hello Phil,

    Wow, you're really good. Thanks a lot - it worked perfectly. The only question which remains is how anybody can ever figure that out without help.

    Thanks again,

    Randy

  13. #13
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Making Customised Menus

    Hi Randy,

    You're welcome & you don't have to. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 width=15 height=15> Stick around the Lounge & experiment. You pick up all kinds of things.

  14. #14
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Seymour, Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    33
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Making Customised Menus

    I saw your post about customizing the right click menu in 2000. how do you do it in 97?

    thanks in advance

  15. #15
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Nuremberg, Bayern
    Posts
    38
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Making Customised Menus

    Hello Tom,

    It's exactly the same as in Word 2000. That's where I had originally done it but had forgotten how and it still worked in Word 2000 because I used the same normal.dot.

    Check Phil's second reply to my question on 01/03/15 at 15:05. It works perfectly.

    If it doesn't work for you contact me again and I'll try and walk you through.

    Regards from Nuremberg, Germany,

    Randy

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •