New Lounger
    NC Coast, USA
    I am new to the lounge. I do apologize if this post is incorrectly placed. Please advise me of any changes I need to make for future posts.

I am not sure what my problem is, which is why I named this post for the OS and the browser. I am running Win7 64 and IE8 on a machine less than 6 mos old. All has been fine until now.

This week, my browser is very slow. I am using Road Runner (Time Warner Cable) as my ISP. They say everything is fine. The tech support person must have just started. I could tell she was reading a script and my problem was not on any of her pages...

In addition to being slow, I have a web site I've been using since before I got this machine. All of a sudden the pages won't load correctly. The top part of the page is fine. The bottom half is on the left side of the screen.

I've tried fooling around with the View tab. The browser's default seems to be Carat browsing (which I cannot find any info on) and encoding is set to Western European (ISO). I don't know how these settings got there. I had encoding set to Western European (Windows). I keep switching it back and it works for a second until I select something on the page and then the settings return to the above.

Could someone please help me understand what's going on? Do I have a virus? Is there any way to get my browser to behave again? Is this a Windows 7 problem or an IE8 problem? Or some other problem?

Any assistance will be most appreciated. If no help arrives soon, I will be a very ugly bald woman.

Welcome to the Lounge!