Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    London, United Kingdom
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I've got a Belkin ADSL modem and router, which has worked perfectly
    until I got my new Win 7 laptop.

    Since then, it keeps dropping the connection, especially when I try to
    download a file.

    It's hard to be sure what makes it disconnect, it seems to be
    essentially random, expect for the annoying habit with downloads. It
    can take me half a dozen attempts to download something. The pattern of behaviour on the lights is the same as if I reset the router, either through its web interface, the hard reset button, or cutting the power.

    Windows help mentions Windows Connect Now, which I assume is intended
    to make the black art of networking a little easier to understand. I'm
    all for that, but wonder if my router is not coping with unexpected
    requests that my new machine is making of it.

    Does Win 7 send reset requests to routers if it doesn't think its connection is right?

    Nick Sharp

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,585
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    Did you make sure the router is supposed to be compatible with Windows 7?

    Joe
    Joe

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    London, United Kingdom
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hi Joe,

    Thanks for your reply. I will check that later today when I've got time.

    Out of interest - why should it matter?

    Nic

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Burrton, KS, USA
    Posts
    833
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Out of interest - why should it matter?
    It may not be exactly if it is compatible with Windows 7 but more if it fully complies with the standards of IP version 6. Windows 7 seems to be the first consumer OS that uses IPV6 functions and so if the router does not fully comply with IPV6 it may not be fully compatible with Windows 7.

  5. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,585
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    Windows should not reset routers on its own. The networking in Windows 7 was changed to try to make things easier to setup & operate. I don't know what was changed but I do know that you are better off using hardware that is compatible with whatever Windows release you run.

    Joe
    Joe

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    London, United Kingdom
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Right. I've finally checked my router for compatibility. (Bit of a gap, because my power adapter broke, and I had to wait for a new one to be sent under warranty)

    The exact model number isn't quoted on Microsoft's site, but the nearest match is declared to be compatible.

    On Belkin's site, I've been reading the troubleshooting section, and came across the following: "After following either of the steps above, your IP address is 192.168.xxx.xxx, then your modem is also a router and will need to be bridged by your ISP." Sad to say, none of the troubleshooting steps mentioned by Belkin worked.

    What does "bridged" mean? How do I get my ISP to do this? And why didn't I need it before I got my Win 7 machine?

    Nic

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Try going to network and sharing center in control panel, change adaptor settings, and right click and select "properties" for the network connection you are using.
    Uncheck Internet Protocol Version 6 (tcp/IPv6) and click OK.
    See if that helps.
    Another thing to try is to see if there is an updated driver for you network card.

    Is this wireless or wired connection??
    If you are on wireless there might be a device interfering with your router.

  8. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    London, United Kingdom
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Well,

    I've updated the firmware on the router. No improvement.

    I've disabled IPv6. No improvement.

    I'm currently connected using a cable, rather than wireless. It seems a little more reliable, but still not 100%.

    Thanks for the suggestions, but I don't think any of them have hit the root of the problem.

    Nic

  9. #9
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I just bought a hp g71 laptop and couldn't get it to connect to my Linksys router. Ironically, I could connect to my neighbours unsecured router! After around 6 hours on and off I changed from WEP to WPA personal and voila!
    I don't know if this helps, but it might be worth a try, it's quick!

  10. #10
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    West ZDes Moines IA
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I had much the same problems with 2 laptops. I changed the channel settings on the router as there are 4 to 5 wirelass networks in the neighborhood I can see. This did helped, I also found the security in Iexplore was set very high and set it on medium and made sure all were on the same WPA settings. All are working fine now.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •