New Lounger
    Thanks
    I'm far from a pro (and am untrained), but I've been using free and inexpensive graphics editors for a couple of decades and do a pretty good job with most things. I have a slew of them, but the ones I use most frequently are Gimp and Paint.net,

I guess I'm an intermediate novice who loves the price of Free. .

What I haven't been able to accomplish to my satisfaction is removing the background surrounding a photo. This is so common these days (an image of an object or person against a solid white, black, or transparent background, e.g.) that I am guessing there are tools that may be better at helping to accomplish this.

I can imagine the basics:
    - If possible, take the photo against a solid background and minimize shadows (I don't often have that option, and the whole lighting/shadows is tricky)
    - Use the "Magic Wand" tool that comes with most editors, play with the tolerance adjustments, then add to/subtract from the selection manually
    - Shrink the Magic Wand's selection by a pixel or two
    - Create layers, use transparent backgrounds, etc.

I don't expect a fully automated solution (that would be near impossible), but when doing things like the above I end up with much less than desirable results. I end up losing some skin or clothing, having lines that don't represent reality, having an aura around the person or object, etc.

I particularly want to make it clean enough to have a transparent background so that I can use the image in various ways and overlays.

What can you all recommend to me -- technique or tool?

Thanks!

jb

Thanks