Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 33
  1. #1
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,202
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 215 Times in 202 Posts
    Hello all,
    Just a "heads up" Linux Mint 9 LXDERC is out http://www.linuxmint.com/blog/?p=1429 . I'm downloading and then backing up then installing ...... right now ! I'll post back if i find anything new and exciting . Regards Fred
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  2. #2
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,202
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 215 Times in 202 Posts
    9
    Quote Originally Posted by Fred J Usack View Post
    Hello all,
    Just a "heads up" Linux Mint 9 LXDERC is out http://www.linuxmint.com/blog/?p=1429 . I'm downloading and then backing up then installing ...... right now ! I'll post back if i find anything new and exciting . Regards Fred
    Hello all,
    Just couldn't help myself, had to post the preliminary results .... things are portending well for me and Linux mint 9 (Isadora) First off i was able to connect to Verizon wireless (760 modem/card) with little problem..This was HUGE! both Ubuntu (some animal name) and Mint 8 were problematic to say the least. Never could figure out why , and had spent too much time trying. Hope that this initial success continues As a added plus i could actually edit the network screen no problem! Joy ! Regards Fred
    PS: Will post back with more results as they unfold,.
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Fred J Usack View Post
    9
    Hello all,
    Just couldn't help myself, had to post the preliminary results .... things are portending well for me and Linux mint 9 (Isadora) First off i was able to connect to Verizon wireless (760 modem/card) with little problem..This was HUGE! both Ubuntu (some animal name) and Mint 8 were problematic to say the least. Never could figure out why , and had spent too much time trying. Hope that this initial success continues As a added plus i could actually edit the network screen no problem! Joy ! Regards Fred
    PS: Will post back with more results as they unfold,.
    Thanks Fred. I'm downloading the ISO file now. Don't know when I'll be installing, but who knows. I'll have to get into the partitioning thing to do so. Can this be installed on a flash drive? If so when I boot with the flash installed will this really screw up my MBR or will it be seen. If I use EasyBCD to show this flash in my MBR will I always have to have the flash plugged in to boot? So many questions, so few answers?????

    Ted
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Fred,

    Another question comes to mind. The link you provided is for the i386 (32 Bit) edition. Have you also tried the AMD64 (64 Bit) edition? I'm actually downloading and burning both ISO files to CD's.

    Ted
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  5. #5
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,202
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 215 Times in 202 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ted Myers View Post
    Thanks Fred. I'm downloading the ISO file now. Don't know when I'll be installing, but who knows. I'll have to get into the partitioning thing to do so. Can this be installed on a flash drive? If so when I boot with the flash installed will this really screw up my MBR or will it be seen. If I use EasyBCD to show this flash in my MBR will I always have to have the flash plugged in to boot? So many questions, so few answers?????

    Ted
    Hi Ted,
    I'll try to answer all the questions (the best that i know) In reading the Linux Mint forums people do run Linux off of "flash drives" I don't know if that will work every time and in all cases. It seems that Linux in my experience is "sometimes"...... example I am now running the "AMD64 edition and it was working perfectly..... until i tried to do a cold boot ( from a powered off start) this completely hosed the OS !? couldn't connect to internet and couldn't edit my settings .....same old problem UGH!!!! so I'm doing a re-install later today I will post back with the results. As i have no way of trying your flash drive experiment i can only offer this .... with EasyBCD installed i have removed selected partitions and formatted them ....leaving the original entries in the BCD Que...... Nothing bad happened ...you could select them at boot time (nothing would happen) and the system would just boot the "default" OS. so my guess is that the same would happen with an unplugged flash drive......And yes there are more questions that we mortals have answers for . Regards Fred
    PS, Flash drive or separate HD is the way to go for doing experiments with "Linux" Because ... Linux always wants to be the " big dog" in the boot area and once in ... its a plague to get rid of if you decide that "it's not for you". also you can run from the "iso" CD without installing...so you can try it out a few ..before you actually decide.
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Perhaps I will try it from the iso file on CD. Did not know I could do this, without installing. I'm just not sure I want it on my HD in it's own partition or just on the side to play with, you know what I mean. I do not have a lot of time for playing and do not want to spend what time I have rebuilding, even from an image, and yes I just reimaged my Win 7 partition.

    By the way did you say you are using the AMD64 edition? Your link points to the 32 Bit edition.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    828
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 38 Times in 34 Posts
    Just installed Mint 9 in a virtual machine on my desktop. I kind of like the start menu better than what is in Gnome or even KDE on Ubuntu 10.04. I'll have to play with this for a while. I recently upgraded my laptop to Ubuntu 10.04 so I am not about to switch that, but if I like it enough I might think about switching at the next release.

    Word of warning on setting up a flash drive to boot an OS - make absolutely sure you follow the instructions exactly, especially when it comes to selecting the flash drive on the partitioning screen. My daughter attempted to do this and accidentally wiped out the laptop's hard drive, including the recovery partition!

  8. #8
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,202
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 215 Times in 202 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ted Myers View Post
    Perhaps I will try it from the iso file on CD. Did not know I could do this, without installing. I'm just not sure I want it on my HD in it's own partition or just on the side to play with, you know what I mean. I do not have a lot of time for playing and do not want to spend what time I have rebuilding, even from an image, and yes I just reimaged my Win 7 partition.

    By the way did you say you are using the AMD64 edition? Your link points to the 32 Bit edition.
    Ted , Hello
    Yes you can run "Mint 9" from your "iso CD" It takes long to boot up , but it does not install itself . It's a good way to check out "Linux" You can run the system as if it were installed . First thing to try is connect to the internet. If you can do that and "edit" the "network manager " its all down hill. My link was to the 32 bit version (did not use this ) felt that it would be more generally useful. . I have indeed installed the "AMD64" version as i now am liking the 64 bit OS over the 32bit windows system on my "7" install.... so wanted to give the "Linux Isadora" the 64 bit trial as well. Have fun . It's "kinda" like going back to "DOS" with some GUI's Fred
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  9. #9
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Fred J Usack View Post
    Ted , Hello
    Yes you can run "Mint 9" from your "iso CD" It takes long to boot up , but it does not install itself . It's a good way to check out "Linux" You can run the system as if it were installed . First thing to try is connect to the internet. If you can do that and "edit" the "network manager " its all down hill. My link was to the 32 bit version (did not use this ) felt that it would be more generally useful. . I have indeed installed the "AMD64" version as i now am liking the 64 bit OS over the 32bit windows system on my "7" install.... so wanted to give the "Linux Isadora" the 64 bit trial as well. Have fun . It's "kinda" like going back to "DOS" with some GUI's Fred
    I went ahead and installed the AMD64 version alongside my Win7. I set up a 30 GB partition for it. The boot was very slow from the CD and was somewhat discouraging so I took the plunge. I downloaded the updates, did import my documents and settings, etc. I connected with the internet through my wireless router very easily, almost flawlessly. I will have to experiment to set up my wireless bluetooth mouse (Laptop PC) as it does not connect without a pin, which I do not have at this time. I will just use my touchpad for now. I see the Grub bootloader, but also went into EasyBCD and loaded the linux info in the MBR as well. Don't know if it will do anything or not. I'll repost as things go forward.

    Addition: After using EasyBCD to add Linux, when booting the Grub loader displays first, when I select Windows 7, the Windows boot menu shows Win 7 and Linux. I guess this is as good as it will get. Will take some time to get used to how this works. There is a lot to explore.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  10. #10
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Another observation, it appears the version of FF that comes with LinuxMint Isadora AMD64 may be 64 Bit as well because there is not a Flash add on for it. When attempting to manually install flash, I have not been successful. In my FF and IE8 in Win 7 flash installed properly in the 32 Bit versions.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  11. #11
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,202
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 215 Times in 202 Posts
    . The boot was very slow from the CD and was somewhat discouraging so I took the plunge. I downloaded the updates, did import my documents and settings, etc. I connected with the internet through my wireless router very easily, almost flawlessly.
    Addition: After using EasyBCD to add Linux, when booting the Grub loader displays first, when I select Windows 7, the Windows boot menu shows Win 7 and Linux. I guess this is as good as it will get. Will take some time to get used to how this works. There is a lot to explore.
    [/quote]
    Ted hello,
    "Took the plunge"....... indeed ! your braver than i. Well now that your "in" all the way, you might be needing this http://gparted.sourceforge.net/download.php
    Windows does not "see" the "ext" type extensions so if you want to move partitions or delete them you'll be needing this (free whatever) tool Just download and "burn the ".iso" and run it at boot time. So far my "Isadora" experiment is for now back on track (formatted and reloaded) This time i ran it from the CD and connected to the internet, then let it do it's thing....One more thing you might want "Clonezilla" http://clonezilla.org/ It will backup Linux without copying every sector ...just the ones with data. (also (free whatever) Its a "minimalist user interface (GUI ) but it works well .... When the program asks click on "beginner" At least till you get your "feet wet" with it. Regards Fred
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  12. #12
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    So far other than the mouse thing, everything is fine, oh and the flash thing. I can live without flash for now anyway. I have just begun playing as time permits. I would recommend to everyone "taking the plunge" to first image there drive before attempting to install Linux on their PC. There are a couple of known issues that are being worked on as we speak.

    I will take a look at the sites and apps you mention as time permits.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  13. #13
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    828
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 38 Times in 34 Posts
    On my 64-bit Ubuntu system, I installed 32-bit Firefox manually (not from the distro, I downloaded it from the Mozilla web site) and installed Flash and Java applet support into it.

  14. #14
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Peter Johnson2191 View Post
    On my 64-bit Ubuntu system, I installed 32-bit Firefox manually (not from the distro, I downloaded it from the Mozilla web site) and installed Flash and Java applet support into it.
    I was thinking of doing that, but am unsure how to uninstall the 64 Bit FF that came with LinuxMint. Since I have just begun playing with this I'm not sure how the uninstall would work so I can install the 32 Bit version. Any ideas??? Or is it possible for them to co-exist as IE does in 64 Bit IE???

    Also could you supply a link to the 32 Bit download page and/or install instructions. I seem to be having a problem finding this for Linux.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  15. #15
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Another strange thing I noticed. When I go to Disk Management in Win 7, it shows 2 partitions instead of 1 for the LinuxMint. I created an approx 30 GB partition during the Linux install. Now I see a 24.86 GB partition and a 1.12 GB partition, neither of which has a label in the Win 7 disk manager. I assume the larger is the partition the LinuxMint installer created. Does anyone know what the smaller partition is???
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •